Tim Winton - Awards and Nominations

Awards and Nominations

  • Four time Miles Franklin Award winner, 1984, 1992, 2002, 2009
  • Two time Booker Prize nominee
  • Winton was included in the Bulletin's "100 Most Influential Australians" list in 2006

Full list of awards and nominations:

  • 1981 Australian Vogel National Literary Award An Open Swimmer
  • 1984 Miles Franklin Award, Shallows
  • 1985 Western Australian Council Literary Award, Scission
  • 1990 Western Australian Premier's Book Award for Children's Fiction, Lockie Leonard, Human Torpedo
  • 1991 Miles Franklin Award, Cloudstreet
  • 1991 NBC Banjo Award for Fiction, Cloudstreet
  • 1991 West Australian Fiction Award, Cloudstreet
  • 1992 Deo Gloria Award, Cloudstreet
  • 1993 American Library Association Best Book for Young Adults Award, Lockie Leonard, Human Torpedo
  • 1993 Wilderness Society Environment Award, Lockie Leonard, Scumbuster
  • 1995 Booker Prize for Fiction (shortlist) The Riders
  • 1995 Commonwealth Writers Prize (South East Asia and South Pacific Region, Best Book), The Riders
  • 1998 Bolinda Audio Book Awards, Blueback
  • 1998 Family Award for Children's Literature, Lockie Leonard, Legend
  • 1998 Wilderness Society Environment Award, Blueback
  • 1999 WAYRBA Hoffman Award for Young Readers, Blueback
  • 2001 Western Australian Premier's Book Award Premier's Prize, Dirt Music
  • 2001 Good Reading Award, 2001, Dirt Music
  • 2002 Australian Booksellers Association Book of the Year Award, Dirt Music
  • 2002 Man Booker Prize for Fiction (shortlist), Dirt Music
  • 2002 Miles Franklin Award, Dirt Music
  • 2002 New South Wales Premier's Literary Award, Christina Stead Prize for Fiction, Dirt Music
  • 2002 Kiriyama Pacific Rim Book Prize, Fiction, 2002 – shortlist, Dirt Music
  • 2003 Australian Society of Authors Medal
  • 2004 Colin Roderick Award, 2004 – joint winner, The Turning
  • 2005 Queensland Premier's Literary Awards, Best Fiction Book, The Turning
  • 2005 New South Wales Premier's Literary Awards, Christina Stead Prize for Fiction, The Turning
  • 2005 Inaugural Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award – shortlisted, The Turning
  • 2005 Commonwealth Writers Prize, South East Asia and South Pacific Region, Best Book – commended, The Turning
  • 2008 Age Book of the Year, Fiction – winner, Breath
  • 2009 Miles Franklin Award, Breath

Read more about this topic:  Tim Winton

Other articles related to "awards and nominations, awards, award":

59th World Science Fiction Convention - Awards - Other Awards
... John W ... Campbell Award for Best New Writer of 2000 or 2001 Kristine Smith ...
Eartha Kitt - Awards and Nominations
... Awards 1960 Hollywood Walk of Fame — 6656 Hollywood Boulevard. 2001 Annie Award for Best Voice Acting by a Female Performer in a Featured Film — The Emperor's New Groove 2007 Annie Award for Best Voice Acting in an Animated Television Production — The Emperor's New School ...
The A-Team - Production Notes - Awards
... During its time, The A-Team was nominated for 3 Emmy Awards In 1983 (Outstanding Film Sound Mixing for a Series) for the pilot episode, in 1984 (Outstanding Film Sound Mixing for a Series ...
No, No, Nanette - Awards and Nominations - 1971 Drama Desk Award Nominations
... Drama Desk Award for Outstanding Book - Book adapted by Burt Shevelove (for the adaptation) (Winner) Drama Desk Award for Outstanding Choreography ...
American History X - Reception - Awards and Nominations
... Edward Norton was nominated for an Academy Award for Best Actor for his performance as Derek Vinyard, but lost to Roberto Benigni for Life is Beautiful ...