The Dark Saga

The Dark Saga is the fourth studio album by American heavy metal band Iced Earth. Released on July 23, 1996, it was the band's first album to feature drummer Mark Prator, as well as the last with bassist Dave Abell. The Dark Saga was also the first Iced Earth album to be co-produced by Jim Morris, who has worked on all of the band's studio albums since then.

Recorded in Spring, 1996, The Dark Saga is a concept album based on the Todd McFarlane comic book character Spawn (who also appears on the album's cover). Because of this, the album features a much more melodic and simplified sound, compared to other Iced Earth albums. While the response to The Dark Saga was mostly positive, some viewed these musical changes as a disappointment.

Read more about The Dark SagaBackground, Writing and Recording, Release and Promotion, Critical Reception, Track Listing

Famous quotes containing the word dark:

    The linnet and the throstle, too, and after dark the long halloo
    And golden-eyed tu-whit, tu-whooof owls that ogle London.
    Alfred Noyes (1880–1958)