The Curtain (Milan Kundera)

The Curtain is a seven-part essay by Milan Kundera, along with The Art of the Novel and Testaments Betrayed composing a type of trilogy of book-length essays on the European novel.

The Curtain was originally published as "Le Rideau", in French in April 2005 by Gallimard. It is also available in Spanish as "El Telón", in German as "Der Vorhang", in Italian as "Il Sipario" (Adelphi, 2004), in Portuguese as "A Cortina" in Polish as "Zasłona", in Greek as "Ο πέπλος" (O peplos) in Hungarian as "A függöny", in Croatian as "Zavjesa", in Icelandic as Tjöldin (JPV, 2006) and in Romanian as "Cortina". It was published in English on January 30, 2007 by HarperCollins.

Works by Milan Kundera
  • The Joke
  • Laughable Loves
  • Life Is Elsewhere
  • The Farewell Waltz
  • The Book of Laughter and Forgetting
  • The Unbearable Lightness of Being
  • Immortality
  • Slowness
  • Identity
  • Ignorance
  • The Art of the Novel
  • Testaments Betrayed
  • The Curtain
  • The Encounter
  • The Owner of the Keys
  • Jacques and his Master

Famous quotes containing the word curtain:

    A good essay must have this permanent quality about it; it must draw its curtain round us, but it must be a curtain that shuts us in, not out.
    Virginia Woolf (1882–1941)