The Blackadder - Plot - Episodes


The episodes in this series, written by Rowan Atkinson and Richard Curtis, were originally shown on BBC One on Wednesday evenings, 21:25 – 22:00. Each episode ran for roughly 33 minutes. The series began on 15 June 1983.

Each of the episodes was based on a medieval theme — the Wars of the Roses, the Crusades and Royal succession, the conflict between the Crown and the Church, arranged marriages between monarchies, and the Plague and witchcraft. The final episode follows a planned coup d'état.

The series was broadcast shortly after the BBC Television Shakespeare productions of Shakespeare's four plays about the Wars of the Roses, the three-part Henry VI plays, followed by Richard III, which was first shown on 23 January 1983. Some of the same actors were used to enhance the parody of Shakespearean history. Ron Cook, who played Richard III in the Shakespeare productions, is cast as the villainous "Sean the Irish Bastard". Peter Benson, who played Shakespeare's Henry VI, played Henry VII in the first episode.

No. Title Airdate
1-1 The Foretelling 15 June 1983
As the Wars of the Roses reach their climax, Edmund finds that he has accidentally killed the King and become a prince of the realm.
1-2 Born to be King 22 June 1983
Edmund plots revenge when Dougal McAngus, the King's Supreme Commander, is awarded Edmund's Scottish lands.
1-3 The Archbishop 29 June 1983
With the crown and church at each other's throats, the King decides that Edmund should become the new Archbishop of Canterbury.
1-4 The Queen of Spain's Beard 6 July 1983
Edmund is to be married to an ugly Spanish princess and tries everything to stop the wedding. First appearance of Miriam Margolyes.
1-5 Witchsmeller Pursuivant 13 July 1983
Edmund is suspected of being a witch by a mysterious witch-hunter and sentenced to death.
1-6 The Black Seal 20 July 1983
When all of Edmund's titles are removed except Warden of the Royal Privies, Edmund is furious and decides to seize the throne with the help of the six most evil men in the kingdom.
First appearance of Rik Mayall as Mad Gerald, though the character is credited as "himself".

Read more about this topic:  The Blackadder, Plot

Other articles related to "episodes, episode":

Dragnet (series) - Episodes - 1989 Television Series
... A total of 52 episodes were aired over two seasons ... The first 26 episodes aired between October 24, 1989 and January 21, 1990, with the second season, also containing 26 episodes, airing between April 19 and ...
Zone Fighter - Characters - Terro-Beasts
... Red Spark (Episode 1) Jikiro (Episodes 1, 22, 25) Destro-King (Episodes 2 and 12) Dorola (Episode 3) Wagilar (Episode 4) Spyler (Episodes 4 and 12) Dragon King (Episodes 7 and 12 ... Gigan appears in Episode 11 ... is briefly defeated by Godzilla, but after reviving he is killed by Zone Fighter at the end of the episode ...
Orson Bean - Filmography
... Television Theatre Erwin Throwbridge Episodes Three Men on a Horse, Nothing but the Truth 1952 Westinghouse Studio One Harvey B ... Hines Episode The Square Peg 1954 The Blue Angel Host I believe that the Blue Angel you list was a night club in New York City where Mr Bean performed. 1954 Robert Montgomery Presents unknown Episode It Happened in Paris 1954 Westinghouse Studio One Joey Episode Joey 1955 The Best of Broadway Mortimer Brewster Episode Arsenic and Old Lace 1955 The Elgin Hour Arthur ...
List Of Hercules: The Legendary Journeys Episodes
... The following is a list of episodes from Hercules The Legendary Journeys, a television series, filmed in New Zealand and the United States, starring Kevin Sorbo as Hercules ... It ran for 111 episodes over six seasons ...
Karl Urban - Filmography - Television
... Role Notes 1990 Shark in the Park Rohann Murdoch 6 episodes 1992 Homeward Bound Tim Johnstone 1993 White Fang David 1 episode "Tough Kid" 1993 Shortland Street Paramedic Jamie ...

Famous quotes containing the word episodes:

    Twenty or thirty years ago, in the army, we had a lot of obscure adventures, and years later we tell them at parties, and suddenly we realize that those two very difficult years of our lives have become lumped together into a few episodes that have lodged in our memory in a standardized form, and are always told in a standardized way, in the same words. But in fact that lump of memories has nothing whatsoever to do with our experience of those two years in the army and what it has made of us.
    Václav Havel (b. 1936)

    What is a novel if not a conviction of our fellow-men’s existence strong enough to take upon itself a form of imagined life clearer than reality and whose accumulated verisimilitude of selected episodes puts to shame the pride of documentary history?
    Joseph Conrad (1857–1924)