Texas Tech Red Raiders

The Texas Tech Red Raiders are the athletic teams that represent Texas Tech University (TTU). The women's basketball team uses the name Lady Raiders; however, the school's other women's teams use the "Red Raiders" name. The university's athletic program fields 17 varsity teams in 11 sports. The Masked Rider and Raider Red serve as the mascots representing the teams, and the school colors are scarlet and black. Texas Tech participates in the NCAA Division I and is a founding member of the Big 12 Conference.

From 1932 until 1956, the university belonged to the Border Intercollegiate Athletic Association. Texas Tech was admitted to the Southwest Conference on May 12, 1956. When the Southwest Conference disbanded in 1995, Texas Tech, along with the University of Texas at Austin, Texas A&M University, and Baylor University, joined with all eight former members of the Big Eight Conference to form the Big 12 Conference.

The university's athletic director is Kirby Hocutt. Bob Knight, the most victorious coach in men's Division I basketball history, coached the Red Raiders men's basketball team from 2001 to 2008. Following Bob Knight's retirement in 2008, his son Pat Knight assumed head coaching duties. The Red Raiders football team, which has been coached by Mike Leach from 2000 to 2009, is a member of the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision and has appeared in the 19th-most bowl games of any team. Tommy Tuberville was named head coach in 2010 following the firing of Mike Leach and remained in the position until 2012 before resigning. He was replaced by former Texas Tech quarterback Kliff Kingsbury In 1993, led by coach Marsha Sharp, the Lady Raiders basketball team won the NCAA Women's Basketball Championship. Following Sharp's retirement in 2006, Kristy Curry was named Lady Raiders head coach. Red Raiders baseball coach Larry Hays, who is one of only four coaches in NCAA baseball history to win 1,500 career games, retired in 2008.

Read more about Texas Tech Red RaidersHistory, Varsity Sports, Club Sports, Facilities

Other articles related to "texas tech red raiders, red raiders, texas tech, red":

Texas A&M Aggies Football - Rivalries - Inactive Rivalries - Texas Tech Red Raiders
... The Aggies first played the Red Raiders in 1927 ... Over the life of the series, the Aggies have shutout the Red Raiders four times, and the Red Raiders have shutout the Aggies four times ... The Aggies and Red Raiders each have win streaks of six games, which are the longest in the series (the Aggies' streak included the 1927 and 1932 games as well as the games from 1942 to ...
Bob Knight - Texas Tech Red Raiders
... for vacancies, Knight accepted the head coaching job at Texas Tech, though his hiring was opposed by a group of faculty led by Walter Schaller ... conference introducing him, Knight quipped, "This is without question the most comfortable red sweater I've had on in six years." Knight quickly improved the program, which had not ... He led the Red Raiders to postseason appearances in each of his first four years at the school (three NCAA Championship tournaments and one NIT) ...
Texas Tech Red Raiders - People - Alumni
... Main article List of Texas Tech University alumni (sports) In the sports world, Texas Tech Red Raiders have gone on to play in the NFL, NBA, WNBA, Major ...
James Willis (American Football) - Coaching Career - Texas Tech Red Raiders
... Tuberville to serve as the new defensive coordinator for the Texas Tech Red Raiders football team ...

Famous quotes containing the words raiders, red and/or texas:

    This is our fate: eight hundred years’ disaster,
    crazily tangled like the Book of Kells:
    the dream’s distortion and the land’s division,
    the midnight raiders and the prison cells.
    John Hewitt (b. 1907)

    Compared to Clouseau, Attila the Hun was a Red Cross volunteer.
    Blake Edwards (b. 1922)

    The pleasure of jogging and running is rather like that of wearing a fur coat in Texas in August: the true joy comes in being able to take the damn thing off.
    Joseph Epstein (b. 1937)