Ted Swales - Victoria Cross

Victoria Cross

In 1945, whilst still with the RAF Pathfinders (No. 582 Squadron), Swales was the Master Bomber and captain of Avro Lancaster, B MkIII (No. PB538 60M). On 23 February 1945, the very same day as his D.F.C. award was Gazetted, Swales led the bombing raid on Pforzheim, Germany (not far from Karlsruhe and the Rhine River), where 17.600 civilians were killed in 22 minutes.

The 'sortie', his 43rd operational flight, consisted of 367 Lancasters supported by 13 Mosquitos. The marking and bombing, from only 8,000 feet, were particularly accurate and damage of a most severe nature was inflicted on Pforzheim: 1,825 tons of bombs were dropped in only 22 minutes. The post-war British Bombing Survey Unit estimated that 83% of the town's built-up area was destroyed, probably the greatest proportion in any one raid during the war. Ten Lancasters were lost that night and two more crashed in France

Swales' aircraft was attacked by an Me110 whose fire shattered one engine and holed the fuel tanks. They were attacked again by the same fighter which knocked out a second engine. Swales decided to make if not England then friendly territory. The weather closed in and he ordered the crew to bail out. He attempted to put down but his Lancaster stalled and crashed near Valenciennes, west of Prouvy, two miles, 3 km, SSE of Denain in northern France killing him. He was posthumously awarded the Victoria Cross – the 3rd and last Pathfinder pilot to be so honoured. All had been posthumous.

Read more about this topic:  Ted Swales

Other articles related to "victoria cross":

List Of Brigade Of Gurkhas Recipients Of The Victoria Cross
... The Victoria Cross (VC) is a military decoration that may be bestowed upon members of the British or Commonwealth armed forces for acts of valour or gallantry performed in the face of the enemy ... When the Victoria Cross was initially established, Gurkhas, along with all other native troops of the British East India Company Army or the British Indian Army, were not eligible for the decoration and as such, up ... serving in the Gurkha regiments of the Indian Army lost their eligibility for the Victoria Cross and they are now covered under the separate Indian honours system ...
Victoria Cross - Other - Soldiers' Club Naming Traditions
... to be named after a particular recipient of the Victoria Cross, usually one with whom the unit is historically associated ...
List Of New Zealand Military Personnel - World War II
... Later Governor-General of New Zealand Alfred Hulme - awarded the Victoria Cross Lindsay Merritt Inglis - Officer who served in Greece and Wstern ... George Stevens - Officer who served with the 2NZEF Leonard Trent - World War II pilot, Victoria Cross recipient Lloyd Alan Trigg - World War II pilot, (only person awarded the VC ...
List Of Victoria Cross Recipients Of The Royal Air Force - References
... Victoria Cross Heroes ... ISBN 0-7553-1632-0 "RAF Victoria Cross Holders - WW1" ... Retrieved 2008-11-15 "RAF Victoria Cross Holders - WW2" ...
List Of Old Cliftonians - Military - Holders of The Victoria Cross
... Eight Old Cliftonians have won the Victoria Cross, one in the Second Boer War, five in the First World War (1914–1918), one in the Russian Civil War (North Russia Relief ... Navy officer who took part in the Zeebrugge Raid and won the Victoria Cross ...

Famous quotes containing the word cross:

    If any want to become my followers, let them deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me.
    Bible: New Testament, Mark 8:34,5.