Srpska Radikalna Stranka

The Serbian Radical Party (Serbian: Српска радикална странка, CPC / Srpska radikalna stranka, SRS) is a far right Serbian nationalist political party in Serbia, founded in 1991. Formerly the second-largest party in the Serbian National Assembly, it has branches in three of the nations that border Serbia – all former federal republics of Yugoslavia. The party is registered as the Party of Serb Radicals in Montenegro, the Serbian Radical Party of the Republika Srpska in Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the Radical Party of the Serbs in Macedonia. It was active in the Republika Srpska and in the early 1990s and founded the Party of Danube Serbs in the Republic of Serbian Krajina, which later broke its ties with the SRS.

Vojislav Šešelj led the party as president during and after the Bosnian War before voluntary surrendering to the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY) in 2003 to stand trial for alleged war crimes. Deputy president Tomislav Nikolić took over as de facto leader and supported the accession of Serbia to the European Union, which Šešelj and his faction continued to oppose. Nikolić and his faction resigned from the party in 2008 over this disagreement, and went on to launch the Serbian Progressive Party (SNS). Once one of the largest political parties in Serbia, the SRS lost all of its seats in the 2012 parliamentary elections, although it still holds 17 seats in the Community Assembly of Kosovo and Metohija and 5 seats in the Assembly of Vojvodina.

Read more about Srpska Radikalna Stranka:  Background, Ideology, International Relations, Leadership, Electoral Performance, See Also