Spencer Gulf Football League - AFL Representatives

AFL Representatives

The Spencer Gulf League has been home to many AFL Footballers including:

  • Greg Flanegan (Essedon Bombers, 1981)
  • Mark Bickley (Adelaide Crows, 1991–2003) played his junior football for the Solomontown Football club and was a premiership player with the club in 1988, in that same year he won the Madigan Medal at the age of 19. Mark soon moved to the South Adelaide Football club in the SANFL, where he was then selected as an inaugural member of the Adelaide Crows squad in 1991. In 1997 he was appointed captain of the Adelaide Football Club, and captained the 1997 and 1998 premiership sides. He is now a current member of the SANFL Hall of Fame.
  • Bryan Beinke (Adelaide Crows, 1999–2002)
  • Jared Rivers (Melbourne Demons, 2003–present) played junior football for the South Augusta Bulldogs Football club and won a premiership with the club in 2000 at the age of 15. Jared was selected by the Melbourne Demons as the 26th pick overall in the National Draft of 2002. In 2004 he won the National Bank Rising Star.
  • Mark Jamar (Melbourne Demons, 2003–present) played his early football at the Lions Football Club before moving to North Adelaide in the SANFL. Mark was selected at pick 6 of the 2001 Rookie Draft by the Melbourne Demons. In 2010 he was named as the second ruckman for the All-Australian squad.
  • Elijah Ware (Port Adelaide Power, 2005–2006)
  • Wade Thompson (Port Adelaide, 2009–2010)
  • Lewis Johnston (Sydney Swans/Adelaide, 2009–present)

Read more about this topic:  Spencer Gulf Football League