Southern Rhodesian Legislative Assembly - Electoral Districts

Electoral Districts

The Letters Patent created a legislative assembly with 30 members, and for simplicity the 15 electoral districts set the previous year for the Legislative Council were used for the new assembly, but with each district returning two members. Voters were therefore entitled to two votes. Until 1961 there were technically no restrictions on the ability for native Africans to vote, a high property qualification ensured that few were entitled to vote. This was altered in 1958, when a special voters' roll was created for Africans, although Africans were limited to voting for 15 Assembly members while Europeans were entitled to elect 50 members.

Read more about this topic:  Southern Rhodesian Legislative Assembly

Other articles related to "electoral district, district, electoral districts":

Port Coquitlam (provincial Electoral District)
... Port Coquitlam is a provincial electoral district in British Columbia, Canada ... The district was reestablished by the Electoral Districts Act, 2008. 0.52% Turnout 20,432 55.21% British Columbia provincial electoral districts (2009–) North / Central Cariboo-Chilcotin Cariboo North Nechako Lakes North Coast Peace River North Peace River ...
List Of Nunavut Territorial Electoral Districts
... This is a list of Nunavut territorial electoral districts ... In total there are 19 electoral districts in Nunavut spread over three administrative regions ... Each district elects one member to the Legislative Assembly of Nunavut in a first past the post system ...
Victoria (geographical Disambiguation) - Americas - Canada - Canadian Electoral Districts
... Victoria (electoral districts), a list of other provincial and former federal electoral districts Victoria (electoral district), a federal electoral district in British Columbia Victoria City (elec ...
Electoral Districts In Sri Lanka - Constitutional Provision - Delimitation Commission
... a delimitation commission for the delimitation of the electoral districts and apportion the 36 provincial seats ... The constitution limited the number of electoral districts to between 20 and 25 ... The country was divided into 22 electoral districts ...
List Of Electoral Districts By Nation - Estonia
... There are 12 electoral districts (valimisringkonnad) for the parliamentary elections in Estonia ... Each district elects 5 to 14 mandates to the 101-membered Riigikogu ... The capital and largest city Tallinn constitutes 3 electoral districts and Tartu 1 ...

Famous quotes containing the words districts and/or electoral:

    Cities need old buildings so badly it is probably impossible for vigorous streets and districts to grow without them.... for really new ideas of any kind—no matter how ultimately profitable or otherwise successful some of them might prove to be—there is no leeway for such chancy trial, error and experimentation in the high-overhead economy of new construction. Old ideas can sometimes use new buildings. New ideas must use old buildings.
    Jane Jacobs (b. 1916)

    Power is action; the electoral principle is discussion. No political action is possible when discussion is permanently established.
    Honoré De Balzac (1799–1850)