Sligo Borough (UK Parliament Constituency)

Sligo Borough (UK Parliament Constituency)

Sligo Borough is a former borough constituency in Ireland, represented in the House of Commons of the Parliament of the United Kingdom.

It was an original constituency represented in Parliament when the Union of Great Britain and Ireland took effect on 1 January 1801, and returned one Member of Parliament (MP), elected by the first past the post system of election.

There were problems with the 20 November 1868 election in the Borough. A petition was presented by the losing candidate, alleging corruption. As a result the election was declared void. Parliament then passed the Sligo and Cashel Disenfranchisement Act 1870 (33 & 34 Vict. c.38). On 1 August 1870 Sligo Borough lost the right to elect its own MP. The area was transferred to form part of the Sligo County constituency.

Read more about Sligo Borough (UK Parliament Constituency):  Boundaries, Members of Parliament, Elections

Other related articles:

Sligo Borough (UK Parliament Constituency) - Elections
... This list is incomplete you can help by expanding it. ...

Famous quotes containing the word parliament:

    What is the historical function of Parliament in this country? It is to prevent the Government from governing.
    George Bernard Shaw (1856–1950)