Sibu Division

Sibu Division is one of the eleven administrative divisions of Sarawak, east Malaysia, on the island of Borneo. It has a total area of 8,278.3 square kilometers, and is the third largest division after Kuching Division and Miri Division.

The population of Sibu Division (year 2000 census) was 257,300. Ethnically, the population was mostly Iban, Chinese, Malay, and Melanau.

Sibu Division consists of three districts: Sibu, Kanowit, and Selangau.

The economy is largely based on timber extraction from the extensive tropical rainforest. Processed wood products, rather than log export has been given priority by the government. Agriculture is relatively minor, with oil palm and pepper the main products. Tourism, particularly ecotourism, is a growing component of the economy.

The two major rivers in the Sibu Division are the Rajang River and the Igan River.

Read more about Sibu Division:  Early History

Other articles related to "sibu division, sibu, division":

Sibu Division - Early History
... Before 1 June 1873, Sibu was known as "Maling", named after the winding portion, "Tanjung Maling", on the other side of Rejang River ... On 1 June 1873, the third division was created and the division was named after the native rambutan because of the fact that the division had a lot of native rambutan known as "Buah Sibau" in Iban language ... the first batch of Foochows from China to Sibu to open up the fertile lands of Sibu for cultivation, a massive opening up of Sibu ...

Famous quotes containing the word division:

    The glory of the farmer is that, in the division of labors, it is his part to create. All trade rests at last on his primitive activity.
    Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803–1882)