Shimoga District

Shimoga district is a district in the Karnataka state of India. A major part of Shimoga district lies in the Malnad region of the Western Ghats. Shimoga city is its administrative centre. Jog Falls is a major tourist attraction. As of 2011 Shimoga district has a population of 1,755,512. There are seven taluks: Bhadravathi, Hosanagara, Sagara, Shimoga, Shikaripura, Soraba, Thirthahalli.

Read more about Shimoga DistrictOrigin of Name, History, Geography, Economy, Administrative Divisions, Demographics, Flora and Fauna, Education, Sports, Gallery

Other articles related to "shimoga district, district":

List Of Hill Stations In India - Karnataka
... Agumbe, Shimoga District Kodachadri, Shimoga District Sagar, Shimoga District Talaguppa, Shimoga District Biligiriranga Hills, Chamarajanagar District ...
Shimoga District - Gallery
... sculpture, Rameshwara temple, Keladi, Shimoga District Tripurantakesvara temple, Balligavi, Shimoga District Aghoreshwara temple mantapa, Ikkeri, Shimoga District Nagara or Bidanur Fort, Shimoga District ...

Famous quotes containing the word district:

    Most works of art, like most wines, ought to be consumed in the district of their fabrication.
    Rebecca West (1892–1983)