Sandra Cisneros - Awards


Sandra Cisneros received fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts in 1981 and 1988, and in 1985 was presented with the American Book Award by the Before Columbus Foundation for The House on Mango Street. Subsequently she received a Frank Dobie Artists Fellowship, and came first and second in the Segundo Concurso Nacional del Cuento Chicano, sponsored by the University of Arizona.

She has further received the Quality Paperback Book Club New Voices Award, the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award, the PEN Center West Award for best fiction, and the Lannan Foundation Literary Award for Woman Hollering Creek and Other Stories. This book was selected as the noteworthy book of the year by both The New York Times and The American Library Journal, and an anthology of erotic poetry, Loose Woman, won the Mountain & Plains Booksellers' Award.

Cisneros was recognized by the State University of New York, receiving an honorary doctorate from at Purchase in 1993 and a MacArthur fellowship in 1995. In 2003, Caramelo was highly regarded by several journals including The New York Times, the Los Angeles Times, the San Francisco Chronicle, the Chicago Tribune, and The Seattle Times, which led to her Premio Napoli Award in 2005; the novel also was shortlisted for the Dublin International IMPAC award, and was nominated for the Orange Prize in England. In 2003, Cisneros became part of the second group of recipients of the newly formed Texas Cultural Trust's Texas Medal of Arts.

The Archives and Special Collections at Amherst College holds some of her papers.

Read more about this topic:  Sandra Cisneros

Other articles related to "awards, award":

The A-Team - Production Notes - Awards
... During its time, The A-Team was nominated for 3 Emmy Awards In 1983 (Outstanding Film Sound Mixing for a Series) for the pilot episode, in 1984 (Outstanding Film Sound Mixing for a Series) for the episode "When ...
41st Academy Awards - Winners - Presenters
... Presenter Best Visual Effects, Documentary Awards Honorary Award to Onna White) Tony Curtis (Presenter Best Supporting Actress, Short Subjects Awards, Documentary Awards) Jane Fonda (Pr ...
Kelly Osbourne - Awards and Nominations
2002 – Teen Choice Awards – TV – Choice Breakout Star, Female (The Osbournes) – Won 2003 – Teen Choice Awards – Favorite TV Personality – Nominated ...
3D Systems - Community Involvement & Partnerships
... In 2012, 3D Systems began partnering with the 90-year-old Scholastic Art Writing Awards in the Future New category ... For this branch of the Scholastic Awards, students will be challenged to express bold and innovative ideas using new technologies ... will offer students free 3D design software to facilitate their creations and will award three winners with a $1000 scholarship ...
59th World Science Fiction Convention - Awards - Other Awards
... John W ... Campbell Award for Best New Writer of 2000 or 2001 Kristine Smith ...