San Diego Chargers Seasons

San Diego Chargers Seasons

The San Diego Chargers are a professional American football franchise based in San Diego, California. They are members of the West Division of the American Football Conference (AFC) in the National Football League (NFL). The Chargers franchise was founded in 1959 by Barron Hilton and played the 1960 season in Los Angeles as part of the American Football League (AFL). In the next season, the Chargers moved to San Diego, becoming the San Diego Chargers.

The franchise has experienced three major periods of success. The first was from 1960 to 1965, when the Chargers were AFL West champions five times and AFL champions once. The second was from 1978 to 1982, when the Chargers had winning seasons (seasons with more wins than losses) in each of these years, and won three consecutive division championships for the second time in franchise history. The most recent accomplishments range from 2004 to 2009, with the franchise reaching the playoffs five times in six years. Their only Super Bowl appearance was in 1994.

The Chargers have experienced three notable periods of decline. Between 1970 and 1977, the Chargers never won more games than they lost as part of a thirteen year period without playing in the postseason, including four consecutive years last in their division from 1972 to 1975, in which year they bottomed out before two late wins avoided the NFL's first 0-14 season. From 1983 to 1991, they never placed higher than third in their division and did not make the playoffs. From 1996 to 2003, the team had no winning seasons, and had their worst season ever, winning only one of sixteen games in 2000.

The Chargers have been division champions nine times including 2009, all of them in the AFC West. They have been conference champions six times, but only once since the AFL-NFL merger in 1970. As of the end of the 2010 season, the Chargers had played 787 regular and post-season games in 51 seasons, and have appeared in the post-season sixteen times.

Read more about San Diego Chargers Seasons:  Seasons, Footnotes, References

Other articles related to "san diego chargers seasons, san diego chargers, san diego chargers season, chargers, seasons, san diego, season":

San Diego Chargers Seasons - References
... General "San Diego Chargers (1960-Present)" ... Retrieved January 15, 2008 "San Diego Chargers Season Records" ... Retrieved January 15, 2008 " - History - Record Book" ...
2005 In Baseball - Events - September
... player in major league history to hit 100 home runs in his first three seasons, joining Joe DiMaggio, Ralph Kiner, Eddie Mathews and Albert Pujols ... and Ramón Hernández belts a three-run home run in the fourth inning, giving the San Diego Padres a 3-1 victory over Los Angeles ... That homer, Ortiz' second of the night and 40th of the season, allows him to join Carl Yastrzemski as the only players in the 105-year history of the Red Sox to hit 40 home ...

Famous quotes containing the words seasons and/or san:

    Bind us in time, O seasons clear, and awe.
    O minstrel galleons of Carib fire,
    Bequeath us to no earthly shore until
    Is answered in the vortex of our grave
    The seal’s wide spindrift gaze toward paradise.
    Hart Crane (1899–1932)

    We had won. Pimps got out of their polished cars and walked the streets of San Francisco only a little uneasy at the unusual exercise. Gamblers, ignoring their sensitive fingers, shook hands with shoeshine boys.... Beauticians spoke to the shipyard workers, who in turn spoke to the easy ladies.... I thought if war did not include killing, I’d like to see one every year. Something like a festival.
    Maya Angelou (b. 1928)