Regional County Municipality

The term regional county municipality or RCM (French: municipalité régionale de comté, MRC) is used in Quebec to refer to one of 87 county-like political entities. In some older English translations they were called county regional municipality.

Regional county municipalities are a supralocal type of regional municipality, and act as the local municipality in unorganized territories within their borders. The system of regional county municipalities was introduced beginning in 1979 to replace the historic counties of Quebec. In most cases, the territory of an RCM corresponds to that of a census division, however there are a few exceptions.

Some local municipalities are outside of any regional county municipality (hors MRC). This includes some municipalities within urban agglomerations and also some aboriginal lands, such as Indian reserves that are enclaves within the territory of an RCM but not juridically part of it. Where complete territorial coverage is desired, for example for the census, the Indian reserve enclaves are added in to create "geographical RCMs", and the urban agglomerations are considered to be "territories equivalent to an RCM".

For a list of RCMs and equivalent territories, see List of regional county municipalities and equivalent territories in Quebec.

Read more about Regional County Municipality:  Municipalities Not Belonging To An RCM, RCMs As Geographical Units, Census Divisions, Geographical Code of Quebec

Other articles related to "regional county municipality":

Le Saguenay-et-son-Fjord
... It consists of the Le Fjord-du-Saguenay Regional County Municipality and the territory equivalent to a regional county municipality (TE) of Saguenay (which ... the current city of Saguenay were all part of Le Fjord-du-Saguenay Regional County Municipality ... The territory of the pre-2002 Le Fjord-du-Saguenay regional county municipality corresponded exactly to that of Le Saguenay-et-son-Fjord census division ...
Regional County Municipality - Geographical Code of Quebec
... All local municipalities, equivalent Aboriginal territories, Indian settlements and unorganized territories in Quebec are assigned a unique five-digit geographical code ... The first two-digits are the code of the census division in which the municipality is located ...

Famous quotes containing the word county:

    In the County Tyrone, in the town of Dungannon,
    —Unknown. The Old Orange Flute (l. 1)