The subfamily Reduncinae is composed 8 species of antelope all of which dwell in marshes, floodplains or other well-watered areas, including the waterbucks and reedbucks. These antelopes first appeared in fossil record 7.4 million years ago in Eurasia and 6.6 mya in Africa.

    • Subfamily Bovinae: cattle and spiral-horned antelopes, 24 species in 9 genera
    • Subfamily Cephalophinae: duikers, 19 species in two genera
    • Subfamily Hippotraginae: grazing antelopes, 23 species in 11 genera
    • Subfamily Antilopinae: gazelles, dwarf antelopes and the saiga, 38 species in 14 genera
    • Subfamily Caprinae: sheep, goats, 26 species in 12 genera
    • Subfamily Reduncinae
      • Genus Kobus
        • Upemba lechwe, Kobus anselli
        • Waterbuck, Kobus ellipsiprymnus
        • Kob, Kobus kob
        • Lechwe, Kobus leche
        • Nile Lechwe, Kobus megaceros
        • Puku, Kobus vardonii
      • Genus Redunca
        • Southern reedbuck, Redunca arundinum
        • Mountain reedbuck, Redunca fulvorufula
        • Bohor reedbuck, Redunca redunca
    • Subfamily Aepycerotinae: impala, one species
    • Subfamily Peleinae: rhebok, one species
    • Subfamily Alcelaphinae: wildebeest, seven species in four genera

Read more about ReduncinaeAlternate Sub-classification

Other articles related to "reduncinae":

Reduncinae - Alternate Sub-classification
... Adenota is an alternate genus or subgenus composed of kob and puku ... (Nowak 1991) Extant Artiodactyla species Kingdom Animalia Phylum Chordata Class Mammalia Infraclass Eutheria Superorder Laurasiatheria Suborder Ruminantia Antilocapridae Antilocapra Pronghorn (A ...