Ogive (music)

Ogive (music)

Ogive is one of four pieces for piano, composed by Erik Satie in the late 1880s. They were published in 1889, and were the first compositions by Satie he didn't publish in his father's music publishing house.

Satie said to have been inspired by the form of the windows of the Notre Dame cathedral in Paris when composing the Ogives.

An ogive is the curve that forms the outline of a pointed gothic arch. Erik Satie gave this title to a set of four piano miniatures published in 1886 at the beginning of his career. Their calm, slow melodies are built up from paired phrases reminiscent of plainchant. He wanted to evoke a large pipe organ reverberating in the depth of a cathedral, and achieved this sonority by using full harmonies, octave doubling and sharply contrasting dynamics.

Satie wrote this music without bar-lines.

Read more about Ogive (music):  Modern Interpretations, Media

Other articles related to "ogive":

Ogive (music) - Media
... OgiveNo. 1, MIDI rendition, 130 minutes, 5 KB OgiveNo. 2 for Charles Levadé, MIDI rendition, 132 minutes, 5 KB OgiveNo ...