The Sanskrit word nāthá नाथ is the proper name of a Hindu initiatory tradition and the word itself literally means "lord, protector, refuge". The related Sanskrit term Adi Natha means first or original Lord, and is therefore a synonym for Shiva, Mahadeva, or Maheshvara, and beyond these supramental concepts, the Supreme Absolute Reality as the basis supporting all aspects and manifestations of consciousness.

The Nath tradition is a heterodox siddha tradition containing many sub-sects. It was founded by Matsyendranath and further developed by Gorakshanath. These two individuals are also revered in Tibetan Buddhism as Mahasiddhas (great adepts) and are credited with great powers and perfected spiritual attainment.

Read more about Nath:  Natha Sampradaya, Initiation, Indian Alchemy, The Aims of The Nathas, Sonepur Literature and The Twilight Language

Other articles related to "nath":

Sreerampur (Lok Sabha Constituency) - Results Prior To 2009 - 1951-1971
1951 Tushar Kanti Chattopadhyay CPI 1957 Jitendra Nath Lahiri Congress 1962 Dinendra Nath Bhattacharya CPI 1967 B ... Ghosh Congress 1971 Dinendra Nath Bhattacharya CPI(M) ...
Samarjit Nath
... Samarjit Nath (born 1 November 1981) was an Indian cricketer ... Nath made his cricketing debut in the 1997-98 Vijay Merchant Trophy, becoming one of the only players in the Under-16 team to play first-class cricket ... Nath made his only first-class appearance in the 2001-02 Ranji Trophy season, against Tripura ...
Nath - Sonepur Literature and The Twilight Language
... is championed by such as the Charyapada, Matsyendranath, Daripada and the Nath "The mystic poetry of the Natha cult which flourished from 8th to 11th century largely ... The Nath literature of Sonepur seems to have set the tone and temper of the literature the successive ages pursued." ...
Cooch Behar (Lok Sabha Constituency) - Results Prior To 2009 - 1951-1971
... In 1951, Upendra Nath Barman, Birendra Nath Katham and Amiya Kanta Basu, all of Congress, won the North Bengal seat.The winners from Cooch Behar for. 1957 Santosh Banerjee Congress Upendra Nath Barman Congress 1958 (by-election) Nalini Ranjan Ghosh Congress 1962 Debendranath Karjee Forward Bloc 1967 Benoy Krishna Daschowdhury Congress 1971 ...