Nashville Vols Seasons


Nashville Vols Seasons

The Nashville Vols minor league baseball team played 62 seasons from its inception in Nashville, Tennessee in 1901 through its final season of 1963. The club played in 9,002 regular season games and compiled a win–loss record of 4,566–4,436.

The club was established in 1901 as a charter member of the Southern Association (SA). Originally known as the Nashville Baseball Club during their first seven seasons, they were officially named the Nashville Volunteers in 1908. However, the team was, and is, commonly referred to as the Vols. Their last season in the SA was 1961. After sitting out the 1962 season, the Vols returned for a final season as a part of the South Atlantic League (SAL) in 1963. Over their 62-year existence, the Vols competed at four class levels: Class B (1901), Class A (1902–1935), Class A1 (1936–1945), and Double-A (1946–1961, 1963). They served as a farm club for six major league teams.

The Vols won the SA Pennant in 1901, 1902, 1908, 1916, 1940, 1943, 1948, 1949, and 1953. They won the Dixie Series, a best-of-seven playoff series between the SA and Texas League, in 1940, 1941, 1942, and 1949.

Read more about Nashville Vols Seasons:  Season-by-season Records, References

Other articles related to "nashville vols seasons":

Nashville Vols Seasons - References
... General "Nashville Vols Year-by-Year Results." Nashville Sounds 2008 Media Guide. 2008 147 ...

Famous quotes containing the word seasons:

    I will venture to affirm, that the three seasons wherein our corn has miscarried did no more contribute to our present misery, than one spoonful of water thrown upon a rat already drowned would contribute to his death; and that the present plentiful harvest, although it should be followed by a dozen ensuing, would no more restore us, than it would the rat aforesaid to put him near the fire, which might indeed warm his fur-coat, but never bring him back to life.
    Jonathan Swift (1667–1745)