Nagorno-Karabakh Republic - Administrative Divisions

Administrative Divisions

Main article: Administrative divisions of Nagorno-Karabakh Republic

The Nagorno-Karabakh Republic has eight administrative divisions. Their territories include the five districts of the former Nagorno-Karabakh Autonomous Oblast (NKAO), the Shahumian district in the Azerbaijan SSR which is currently under Azerbaijani control, and the seven rayons around the former NKAO that are under the control of the NKR forces.

Following the Nagorno-Karabakh Republic's declaration of independence, the Azerbaijani government abolished the NKAO and created Azerbaijani rayons in its place. As a result, some of the Nagorno-Karabakh Republic's divisions correspond with the Azerbaijani rayons, while others have different borders. A comparative table of the current divisions of the Nagorno-Karabakh Republic and the corresponding rayons of Azerbaijan follows:

# Division Rayon(s) Sahar (city) Former NKAO
3 Askeran Khojali, portion of Agdam Askeran Yes
5 Hadrut Southern Khojavend, Jabrayil, portion of Fizuli Hadrut Partially
2 Martakert Eastern Kalbajar, Western Tartar, portion of Agdam Martakert Partially
4 Martuni Northern Khojavend, portion of Agdam Martuni Partially
7 Qashatagh Lachin, Qubadli, Zangilan Berdzor No
1 Shahumian Southern Goranboy, Western Kalbajar Kalbajar (formerly Shahumian) No
6 Shushi Shusha Shushi Yes
8 Stepanakert (capital) Khojali Stepanakert Yes
Nagorno-Karabakh Azerbaijan

The Nagorno-Karabakh Republic claims Shahumian, which was not part of the Nagorno-Karabakh Autonomous Oblast. Representatives from Shahumian declared independence along with Nagorno-Karabakh, and the proclamation of the Nagorno-Karabakh Republic includes the Shahumian region within its borders. Unlike the rest of Nagorno-Karabakh, Shahumian remains under Azerbaijani control.

Read more about this topic:  Nagorno-Karabakh Republic

Other articles related to "administrative, administrative divisions, divisions, administrative division":

Cities Of The Philippines - Independent Cities
... Consequently, the governor and the provincial government do not have administrative supervision over an independent city and its elected officials, as stated in Section 29 of the Local Government Code ... Being part of an administrative region different from the province's own does not make a city independent ... Regions are not the primary subnational administrative divisions of the Philippines, but rather the provinces ...
Hierarchy - Contexts and Applications - Further Applications - Power- or Authority-based
... Kimbanguist Church hierarchy Raelian Church hierarchy see also autocephaly Administrative branch of government geographical hierarchies Administrative divisions of China Administrative ...
Okrug - Russia - Russian Federation
... and is used to describe the following types of divisions Federal Districts (federalny okrug), such as the Siberian Federal District Autonomous okrugs (avtonomny okrug), such as Chukotka Autonomous Okrug ... subject status and are now considered to be administrative territories within the federal subjects they had been merged into Agin-Buryat Okrug, a territory with special status within ... "Okrug" is also used to describe the administrative divisions of the two "federal cities" in Russia the administrative okrugs of Moscow are an upper-level administrative division ...

Famous quotes containing the word divisions:

    I find myself ... hoping a total end of all the unhappy divisions of mankind by party-spirit, which at best is but the madness of many for the gain of a few.
    Alexander Pope (1688–1744)