Monarchy in The Canadian Provinces

Monarchy In The Canadian Provinces

The monarchy of Canada forms the core of each Canadian provincial jurisdiction's Westminster-style parliamentary democracy, being the foundation of the executive, legislative, and judicial branches of government in each province. The monarchy has been headed since 6 February 1952 by Queen Elizabeth II, who as sovereign is shared equally with both the Commonwealth realms and the Canadian federal entity. She, her consort, and other members of the Canadian Royal Family undertake various public and private functions across the country. However, the Queen is the only member of the Royal Family with any constitutional role.

Royal Assent and the royal sign-manual are required to enact laws, letters patent, and Orders in Council. However, the Constitution Act, 1867, leaves the monarch's direct role in the provinces in question and many royal duties in these regions are specifically assigned to the sovereign's provincial viceroys, known as lieutenant governors, who are appointed by the Queen's federal representative, the governor general. Further, within the conventional stipulations of constitutional monarchy, the Crown's direct participation in any of these areas of governance is limited, with most related powers entrusted for exercise by the elected parliamentarians, the appointed ministers of the Crown generally drawn from amongst them, and the judges and justices of the peace. The Crown today primarily functions as a guarantor of continuous and stable governance and a nonpartisan safeguard against the abuse of power, the sovereign acting as a custodian of the Crown's democratic powers and representing the "power of the people above government and political parties."

In all provinces, the monarchy's roots lie in the British Crown, while in some, mostly in Eastern Canada, the French Crown also had influence. Over the centuries, the institution throughout the country has evolved to become a distinctly Canadian one, represented by unique symbols for each province.

Read more about Monarchy In The Canadian Provinces:  Federal and Provincial Aspects, Personification of The State, Constitutional Role

Other articles related to "monarchy in the canadian provinces, monarchy, in the canadian provinces, canadian, provinces, province":

Monarchy In The Canadian Provinces - Cultural Role - Symbols, Associations, and Awards
... The main symbol of the monarchy is the sovereign herself and her image is thus used to signify government authority—her portrait, for instance, appearing in government ... or crown is also used to illustrate the monarchy as the locus of authority without referring to any specific monarch ... The Queen is the fount of all honours in the Canadian provinces, the first being the Order of the Dogwood for the British Columbia's centennial in 1957 ...
Canadian Sovereignty - Canadian Monarchy - Monarchy in The Canadian Provinces
... In the Canadian federation, the provinces are each a separate jurisdiction of the Canadian Crown, wherein a hereditary monarch is the sovereign and head of state of each province, forming ... the pinnacle of governance, the authority of the Crown in the province is symbolised through elements included in various government institutions' insignia, as well as their names, such as Court of Queen's ...

Famous quotes containing the words monarchy and/or canadian:

    Montesquieu well knew, and justly admired, the happy constitution of this country [Great Britain], where fixed and known laws equally restrain monarchy from tyranny and liberty from licentiousness.
    Philip Dormer Stanhope, 4th Earl Chesterfield (1694–1773)

    We’re definite in Nova Scotia—’bout things like ships ... and fish, the best in the world.
    John Rhodes Sturdy, Canadian screenwriter. Richard Rossen. Joyce Cartwright (Ella Raines)