Miguel Indurain

Miguel Indurain

Tour de France

General classification (1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995)
12 individual stages (1989-1995)

Giro d'Italia

General classification (1992, 1993)
4 individual stages

Olympic Time-Trial Champion (1996)

World Time-Trial Champion (1995) Medal record
Competitor for Spain
Road bicycle racing
Olympic Games
Gold 1996 Atlanta Time trial
World Championships
Gold 1995 Duitama Elite time trial
Silver 1993 Oslo Elite road race
Silver 1995 Duitama Elite road race
Bronze 1991 Stuttgart Elite road race
Infobox last updated on
16 January 2007

Miguel Indurain Larraya (born 16 July 1964) is a retired Spanish road racing cyclist. He won five consecutive Tours de France from 1991 to 1995, the fourth to win five times. He won the Giro d'Italia twice, becoming one of only seven people in history to achieve the Giro Tour double in the same season. He wore the race leader's yellow jersey in the Tour de France for 60 days. Indurain's ability and physical size—1.88 m (6 ft 2 in) and 80 kg (176 lbs)—earned him the nickname "Miguelón" or "Big Mig". He was the youngest rider ever to win the Spanish amateur national road championship, when he was 18, at 20 the youngest rider to lead the Vuelta a España, and at 20 he won a stage of the Tour de l'Avenir.

Read more about Miguel Indurain:  Early Career, Professional Career, End of Career, Physical Advantages, Retirement, Personality, Decorations, Career Highlights

Other articles related to "miguel indurain, indurain, miguel":

1991 Tour De France - Classification Leadership
... Marie Thierry Marie Thierry Marie Thierry Marie 7 Jean-Paul van Poppel Peter De Clercq 8 Miguel Indurain Greg LeMond 9 Mauro Ribeiro 10 Phil Anderson 11 Charly Mottet Banesto 12 Charly Mottet Luc ...
1993 Giro D'Italia - Classification Leadership
... first rider to cross the Cima Coppi was Miguel Indurain The rows in the following table correspond to the jerseys awarded after that stage was run ... Riis Ariostea 8 Adriano Baffi Mariano Piccoli Stefano Colagè 9 Giorgio Furlan 10 Miguel Indurain Miguel Indurain Mecair-Ballan 11 Fabiano Fontanelli Bruno Leali Lampre-Polti 12 ...
1992 Giro D'Italia - Classification Leadership
... Trofeo Fast Team 1 Thierry Marie Thierry Marie Thierry Marie not awarded Julio César Ortegón Miguel Indurain Castorama 2 Endrio Leoni Mario Cipollini ...
GP Miguel Indurain
... The Grand Prix Miguel Indurain (Spanish Gran Premio Miguel Indurain) is a Spanish one-day road bicycle race ... Hortensio Vidaurreta, Miguel María Lasa and Juan Fernández share the record for most wins with three each ...