Mid Glamorgan

Mid Glamorgan (Welsh: Morgannwg Ganol) is a preserved county of Wales. From 1974 until 1996, it was also an administrative county, with a county council.

Mid Glamorgan was formed in 1974 under the Local Government Act 1972. It consisted of part of the former administrative county of Glamorgan, and the county borough of Merthyr Tydfil, along with the parishes of Penderyn and Vaynor from Brecknockshire and the urban districts of Bedwas and Machen, Rhymney and part of Bedwellty, from Monmouthshire.

It was divided into six districts:

  • Cynon Valley
  • Ogwr
  • Merthyr Tydfil
  • Rhondda
  • Rhymney Valley
  • Taff-Ely

Mid Glamorgan and its component districts were abolished in 1996 and the area split into the unitary authorities of Bridgend, Merthyr Tydfil, Rhondda Cynon Taf and part of Caerphilly as a result of the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994.

The communities of Wick, St Brides Major, Ewenny (from the Ogwr district) became part of the Vale of Glamorgan county borough, while Pentyrch (from the Taff-Ely district) was added to the Cardiff unitary authority area. Because of this, they became part of the preserved county of South Glamorgan. In 2003 the ceremonial borders were further adjusted, placing the entire Caerphilly county borough in the ceremonial county of Gwent.

The county council's offices were located in the Glamorgan Building (the former headquarters of Glamorgan County Council), in Cathays Park, Cardiff, outside of the Mid Glamorgan boundaries.

Other articles related to "glamorgan, mid glamorgan":

South Wales Central (National Assembly For Wales Electoral Region) - Constituencies
... counties Cardiff Central Jenny Rathbone Labour Entirely within South Glamorgan Cardiff North Julie Morgan Labour Entirely within South Glamorgan Cardiff South and Penarth Vaughan Gething Labour Entirely within South ...
Preserved Counties Of Wales - Boundary Changes
... Clwyd to Powys, and Wick, St Brides Major, Ewenny and Pentyrch were transferred from Mid Glamorgan to South Glamorgan ... the part of the local government area of Caerphilly which had been in Mid Glamorgan was to be part of Gwent and the part of the local government area of Conwy which ... The boundary between Mid Glamorgan and South Glamorgan was also to be re-aligned to reflect small changes in local government boundaries ...
Scouting In Wales - Scout Association Camp Sites
... Cardiff and The Vale of Glamorgan Scout Area is responsible for Jubilee Fields, and has joint responsibility with Mid Glamorgan for Miskin Mill ... Glamorgan West Scout Area is responsible for Silver Cross Scout Centre ... Mid Glamorgan Scout Area is jointly responsible with Cardiff and The Vale of Glamorgan Scout Area for Miskin Mill Scout Village, which has been in continuous use by ...
Local Government Act 1972 - The New Local Government Areas - Wales
... Monmouthshire Newport except parts in Mid Glamorgan and South Glamorgan Breconshire none Brynmawr and Llanelly Gwynedd Anglesey none all Caernarvonshire none all Merionethshire none ... none all Radnorshire none all Breconshire none all except parts to Gwent and Mid Glamorgan South Glamorgan Glamorgan Cardiff Barry, Cowbridge, Penarth ...

Famous quotes containing the word mid:

    There, on the mountain and the sky,
    On all the tragic scene they stare.
    One asks for mournful melodies;
    Accomplished fingers begin to play.
    Their eyes mid many wrinkles, their eyes,
    Their ancient, glittering eyes, are gay.
    William Butler Yeats (1865–1939)