The Meierij van 's-Hertogenbosch (Bailiwick of Bois le Duc) was one of the four parts of the former duchy of Brabant, the others being the areas of Leuven, Brussels and Antwerp. It got its name from the Bailiff of 's-Hertogenbosch, who ruled the area in the name of the Dukes of Brabant. Nowadays the Meierij is formed out of the eastern part of the Dutch province of North Brabant.

The capital city of North Brabant and the most important city of the Bailiwick is 's-Hertogenbosch. Other parts of the Bailiwick are the so-called "Vier Kwartieren"

  • Oisterwijk (with main city Oisterwijk)
  • Kempenland (with main city Oirschot and later Eindhoven)
  • Peelland (with main city Sint Oedenrode)
  • Maasland (with main city Oss)

In the northeast of the bailiwick there were some free lands which were also connected to the Meierij:

  • Land of Cuijk
  • Land of Ravenstein
  • Barony of Boxmeer
  • Territory Gemert (beloning to the Teutonic order)
  • County Megen
  • Land of Bokhoven

In the south the nowadays Belgian town of Lommel belonged to the bailiwick, while the village Luijksgestel belonged to the prince-bishopric of Li├Ęge. In 1807 these areas were exchanged.

Read more about Meierij:  Landscape, History

Other articles related to "meierij":

Meierij - History
... Historically the Meierij is the descendant of Taxandria, when that area comes under the rule of the dukes of Brabant in the 12th century ... However, despite these foundings, the Meierij often suffered from conflicts and wars between Brabant and Gelre ... In the Eighty Years' War, times turned bad for the Meierij ...