Max Planck Society

Max Planck Society

The Max Planck Society for the Advancement of Science (German: Max-Planck-Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Wissenschaften e. V.; abbreviated MPG) is a formally independent non-governmental and non-profit association of German research institutes publicly funded by the federal and the 16 state governments of Germany. It is named in honor of its former president, theoretical physicist Max Planck.

The nearly 80 research institutes of the Max Planck Society conduct basic research in the interest of the general public in the natural sciences, life sciences, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. They have a total staff of approx. 13,000 permanent employees, including 4,700 scientists, plus around 11,000 non-tenured scientists and guests. Their budget for 2006 was about €1.4 billion, with 84% from state and federal funds. The Max Planck Institutes focus on excellence in research, with 32 Nobel Prizes awarded to their scientists, and are generally regarded as the foremost basic research organization in Germany and Europe.

Other notable networks of publicly funded research institutes in Germany are the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, performing applied research with a focus on industrial collaborations, the Helmholtz Association of German Research Centres, a network of the national laboratories in Germany, and the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Scientific Community, a loose network of institutes performing basic to applied research.

Read more about Max Planck SocietyHistory, Organization, Discrimination Controversy

Other articles related to "max planck, max planck society, max, society":

Max Planck Institute For The Science Of Light - History
... The purpose of Max Planck Research Groups (MPRG) at various universities is to strengthen networking between universities and institutes of the Max Planck Society ... In 2004, the Max-Planck Society established a new Max Planck Research Group, "Optics, Information, and Photonics", at the Friedrich-Alexander-University, Erlangen-Nuremberg to ... In June 2008, after an evaluation, the senate of the Max Planck Society decided to convert this group to a Max Planck institute and thereupon founded the "Max Planck Institute ...
Otto Hahn - Biography - Honours and Awards
... and scientific societies (among them the University of Cambridge, the Physical Society, the University College and the Royal Society in London (1957) and ... The day after his death, the Max Planck Society published the following obituary notice in all the major newspapers "On 28 July, in his 90th year, our ... The Max Planck Society mourns its founder, who continued the tasks and traditions of the Kaiser Wilhelm Society after the war, and mourns also a good and much loved human being, who will live ...
University Of Heidelberg - Organization - Partnerships
... Heidelberg Academy of Sciences Karlsruhe Research Center (Helmholtz Association) Max Planck Institute for Astronomy (Max Planck Society) Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International ...
Max Planck Society - Nobel Laureates - Kaiser-Wilhelm-Society (1914-1948)
... Meyerhof, Nobel prize medicine 1922 Albert Einstein, Nobel prize physics 1921 Max Planck, Nobel prize physics 1918 Fritz Haber, Nobel prize chemistry 1918 ...
Center Of Advanced European Studies And Research
... caesar is closely associated with the Max Planck Society (MPG) ... The President of the Max Planck Society chairs the Board of Trustees ... The caesar-directors are scientific members of the Max Planck Society ...

Famous quotes containing the words society and/or max:

    The web of domination has become the web of Reason itself, and this society is fatally entangled in it.
    Herbert Marcuse (1898–1979)

    What do any of us know of the private past of even the most harmless and kind-looking individuals?
    Arnold Phillips, Max Nosseck (1902–1972)