Malayan Dollar

Malayan Dollar

The dollar (Malay: ringgit, Jawi: ريڠڬيت) was the currency of the British colonies and protectorates in Malaya and Brunei until 1953. It was introduced in 1939, replacing the Straits dollar at par, with 1 dollar = two shillings four pence sterling (60 dollars = 7 pounds).

Read more about Malayan Dollar:  Coins, Banknotes

Other articles related to "malayan dollar, dollar, dollars, malayan":

Malayan Dollar - Banknotes
... Banknotes in denominations of 1, 5 and 10 dollar were printed in the U.K ... However, because a shipload of 1 and 5 dollar notes were captured by German forces, only the 10 dollars were issued (see History section above) ... in 1945 (dated 1941), in denominations of 1, 5, 10, 50, 100, 1000 and 10,000 dollars ...
Federated Malay States - Economy
1941–1945 Malaysia in transition Malayan Union 1946–1948 Federation of Malaya 1948–1963 Independence 1957 Federation of Malaysia 1963– By topic Communications · Military Timeline Malaysia portal See also ... In 1939, the British government introduced a new currency, Malayan dollar (ringgit in Malay) for used in Malaya and Brunei replacing the Straits dollar at par value ... It had the smallest denominations of 1 cent to a highest of 1000 Malayan dollar and retained the exchange rate as was from the Straits dollar ...

Famous quotes containing the word dollar:

    Any time you take a chance you better be sure the rewards are worth the risk because they can put you away just as fast for a ten dollar heist as they can for a million dollar job.
    Stanley Kubrick (b. 1928)