London Borough - Former Authorities

Former Authorities

The boroughs were created as follows. There have been some changes to boundaries and some boroughs have been renamed since 1965.

Inner London borough Former areas
Camden Hampstead (11a) St Pancras (11b) Holborn (11c)
Greenwich Greenwich (22a) Woolwich (part) (22b)
Hackney Hackney (9a) Shoreditch (9b) Stoke Newington (9c)
Hammersmith Hammersmith (4a) Fulham (4b)
Islington Islington (10a) Finsbury (10b)
Kensington and Chelsea Kensington (3a) Chelsea (3b)
Lambeth Lambeth (6a) Wandsworth (part) (6b)
Lewisham Lewisham (21a) Deptford (21b)
Southwark Bermondsey (7b) Camberwell (7c) Southwark (7a)
Tower Hamlets Bethnal Green (8a) Poplar (8c) Stepney (8b)
Wandsworth Battersea (5b) Wandsworth (part) (5a)
Westminster Paddington (2c) St Marylebone (2b) Westminster (2a)

Outer London borough Former areas
Barking and Dagenham Barking (part) (25a) Dagenham (part) (25b)
Barnet Barnet (31a) East Barnet (31b) Finchley (31d) Hendon (31c) Friern Barnet (31e)
Bexley Bexley (23b) Erith (23a) Crayford (23c) Chislehurst and Sidcup (part) (23d)
Brent Wembley (12a) Willesden (12b)
Bromley Bromley (20c) Beckenham (20b) Orpington (20e) Penge (20a) Chislehurst and Sidcup (part) (20d)
Croydon Croydon (19a) Coulsdon and Purley (19b)
Ealing Acton (13b) Ealing (13a) Southall (13c)
Enfield Edmonton (30c) Enfield (30a) Southgate (30b)
Haringey Hornsey (29b) Tottenham (29c) Wood Green (29a)
Harrow Harrow (32)
Havering Romford (24a) Hornchurch (24b)
Hillingdon Hayes and Harlington (33c) Ruislip Northwood (33b) Uxbridge (33a) Yiewsley and West Drayton (33d)
Hounslow Brentford and Chiswick (14c) Feltham (14a) Heston and Isleworth (14b)
Kingston upon Thames Kingston upon Thames (16a) Malden and Coombe (16b) Surbiton (16c)
Merton Mitcham (17c) Merton and Morden (17b) Wimbledon (17a)
Newham West Ham (27a) East Ham (27b) Barking (part) (27c) Woolwich (part) (27d)
Redbridge Ilford (26a) Wanstead and Woodford (26b) Dagenham (part) (26c) Chigwell (part) (26d)
Richmond upon Thames Barnes (15a) Richmond (15b) Twickenham (15c)
Sutton Beddington (18c) Carshalton (18b) Sutton and Cheam (18a)
Waltham Forest Chingford (28a) Leyton (28c) Walthamstow (28b)


Read more about this topic:  London Borough

Other articles related to "authorities":

Water Act 1973
... local authority control, and ten larger regional water authorities were set up, under state control based on the areas of super-sets of River Authorities which were also subsumed into ... of State for the Environment, and by the various local authorities in its area ... The Council's duties included implementing national water policy, assisting the ten regional authorities in matters of joint concern, and setting and enforcing national regulations ...
Local Government Act 1972 - Division of Functions
... were assigned to new, separate, non-elected authorities, but the remaining functions previously exercised by local authorities were distributed broadly as ...
ICRC Hospital Of Novye Atagi - The Threat
... He was freed on pressure of the highest Chechen authorities ... The local authorities were asked to erect check points around the delegation building ... Checkpoints were also requested from the authorities, which promised them but didn't really implement them ...

Famous quotes containing the word authorities:

    Self-trust is the first secret of success, the belief that if you are here the authorities of the universe put you here, and for cause, or with some task strictly appointed you in your constitution, and so long as you work at that you are well and successful.
    Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803–1882)

    Some authorities hold that the young ought not to lie at all. That, of course, is putting it rather stronger than necessary; still, while I cannot go quite so far as that, I do maintain, and I believe I am right, that the young ought to be temperate in the use of this great art until practice and experience shall give them that confidence, elegance and precision which alone can make the accomplishment graceful and profitable.
    Mark Twain [Samuel Langhorne Clemens] (1835–1910)