List of Divisional Boards in Queensland - Divisions Created By The Act

Divisions Created By The Act

On 11 November 1879, 74 divisions came into existence upon the proclamation of the Act:

  • Antigua Division
  • Aramac Division
  • Balmoral Division
  • Banana Division
  • Barambah Division (renamed Nanango in 1888)
  • Barcaldine Division
  • Barolin Division
  • Bauhinia Division
  • Beenleigh Division
  • Belyando Division
  • Booringa Division
  • Brassall Division
  • Broadsound Division
  • Bulimba Division (renamed Belmont in 1894)
  • Bundanba Division
  • Burrum Division
  • Caboolture Division
  • Cairns Division
  • Calliope Division
  • Clifton Division
  • Coomera Division
  • Daintree Division
  • Dalrymple Division
  • Diamantina Division
  • Doonmunya Division (renamed Carpentaria in 1883)
  • Durundur Division (renamed Esk in 1880)
  • Einasleigh Division
  • Glastonbury Division (1895; Gympie area)
  • Glengallan Division
  • Gogango Division
  • Goolman Division
  • Gowrie Division
  • Gregory Division (abolished late 1880s)
  • Hann Division
  • Highfields Division
  • Hinchinbrook Division
  • Inglewood Division
  • Ithaca Division (became municipality in 1887)
  • Jondaryan Division
  • Kargoolnah Division
  • Kolan Division
  • Murilla Division
  • Murweh Division
  • Mutdapilly Division
  • Nerang Division
  • Nogoa Division (abolished late 1880s)
  • Nundah Division (renamed Kedron in 1901)
  • Paroo Division
  • Perry Division
  • Pioneer Division
  • Purga Division
  • Ravenswood Division
  • Rawbelle Division
  • Rosalie Division
  • Stanthorpe Division
  • Tabragalba Division
  • Taroom Division
  • Thuringowa Division
  • Tiaro Division
  • Tinana Division
  • Tingalpa Division
  • Toowong Division (became municipality in 1880)
  • Ula Ula Division
  • Waggamba Division
  • Walloon Division
  • Wallumbilla Division (abolished c.1891 - in Mitchell area)
  • Wambo Division
  • Wangaratta Division
  • Warroo Division
  • Waterford Division
  • Widgee Division
  • Woothakata Division
  • Yeerongpilly Division

Read more about this topic:  List Of Divisional Boards In Queensland

Famous quotes containing the words the act, act, divisions and/or created:

    In the course of the actual attainment of selfish ends—an attainment conditioned in this way by universality—there is formed a system of complete interdependence, wherein the livelihood, happiness, and legal status of one man is interwoven with the livelihood, happiness, and rights of all. On this system, individual happiness, etc. depend, and only in this connected system are they actualized and secured.
    Georg Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel (1770–1831)

    Remember that you are an actor in a drama, of such a part as it may please the master to assign you, for a long time or for a little as he may choose. And if he will you to take the part of a poor man, or a cripple, or a ruler, or a private citizen, then may you act that part with grace! For to act well the part that is allotted to us, that indeed is ours to do, but to choose it is another’s.
    Epictetus (c. 55–135 B.C.)

    Nothing does more to activate Christian divisions than talk about Christian unity.
    Conor Cruise O’Brien (b. 1917)

    I’ve been cursed for delving into the mysteries of life. Perhaps death is sacred, and I’ve profaned it. Oh, what a wonderful vision it was. I dreamed of being the first to give to the world the secret that God is so jealous of, the formula for life. Think of the power, to create a man. And I did, I did it, I created a man. And who knows, in time I could have trained him to do my will. I could have bred a race, I might even have found the secret of eternal life.
    William Hurlbut (1883–?)