Kyneton ( /ˈkaɪntən/ KEYEN-tən) is a town in the Macedon Ranges region of Victoria, Australia. The Calder Freeway bypasses Kyneton to the north and east. The town was named after the English village of Kineton, Warwickshire.

The town has three main streets: Mollison Street, Piper Street and High Street. Piper Street has the oldest streetscape of these, and still has many of its original buildings. The railway station, about 91 kilometres (57 mi) from Melbourne on the Bendigo railway line, is a terminus for some peak hour trains. The town is the council seat of the Shire of Macedon Ranges. At the 2011 census, Kyneton had a population of 6,629.

Kyneton is home to mineral springs, the Campaspe River, botanical gardens and historic houses, many with bluestone architecture. Kyneton hosts several events during the year including the ANZAC Day parade, Kyneton Daffodil Festival, Kyneton Agricultural show and the Kyneton Cup.

Read more about KynetonHistory, Media, Tourist Attractions, Education, Sport

Other articles related to "kyneton":

Shire Of Macedon Ranges
... The main shire offices are located in Kyneton ... Romsey, Gisborne, Newham and Woodend and most parts of the shire of Kyneton ... The major towns within the shire are Gisborne, Kyneton, Lancefield, Macedon, Malmsbury, Mount Macedon, Riddells Creek, New Gisborne, Romsey and Woodend ...
Kyneton - Sport
... Kyneton has a horse racing club, the Kyneton District Racing Club, which schedules around sixteen race meetings a year including the Kyneton Cup meeting in November (alwa ... In 2009 the Kyneton District Racing Club partnered with the Northern Melbourne Institute of TAFE to use the facilities of the racecourse and its extensive grounds as an educational training ... Golfers play at the course of the Kyneton Golf Club on Black Hill Road ...
Kyneton Football Club
... The Kyneton Football Club are an Australian rules football club which compete in the Bendigo Football League ... They are based in the town of Kyneton, Victoria and have played in the Bendigo Football League since 1932 ...
Shire Of Kyneton - Wards
... Kyneton was divided into four ridings, each of which elected three councillors Kyneton East Riding Kyneton West Riding Trentham/Tylden Riding Carlsruhe/Malmsbury Riding ...