Jack Harte (Irish Writer) - Novels


Harte's first novel, In the Wake of the Bagger, was published in 2006. It was commissioned by Sligo Co Council under the Irish Government's Per Cent for Art scheme. It tells the story of the Dowd family, who are uprooted from their home in Killeenduff and resettle as economic migrants in the Irish Midlands. It describes the tension between the traditional Irish way of life and the new realities of industrialization in rural Ireland. The novel was described in the Irish Independent as "one of the great books about Ireland." It was selected by Des Kenny as one of his 101 Irish Books You MUST Read – Kenny's Choice.

Harte's second novel is Reflections in a Tar-Barrel. It was first published in Bulgarian translation in 2007.

Unravelling the Spiral is an account of the life of Harte's cousin, sculptor Fred Conlon. Harte and Conlon were born within ten months of each other in the townland of Killeenduff, grew up together, and were close friends until Conlon's death.

Read more about this topic:  Jack Harte (Irish Writer)

Other articles related to "novel, novels":

John Crowley - Biography
... He published his first novel (The Deep) in 1975, and his 17th volume of fiction (Four Freedoms) in 2009 ... His first published novels were science fiction The Deep (1975) and Beasts (1976) ... in David Pringle's Science Fiction The 100 Best Novels ...
Poppy Z. Brite - Literary History
... Brite is best known for writing gothic and horror novels and short stories ... Some of Brite's better known novels include Lost Souls (1992), Drawing Blood (originally titled Birdland) (1993), and Exquisite Corpse (1996) he has also released short fiction collections ... The critically acclaimed Liquor novels—Liquor (2004), Prime (2005), and Soul Kitchen (2006)—are dark comedies set in the New Orleans restaurant world.The ...
Joy Fielding - Personal
... She has published to date 22 novels, two of which were converted into film ... Fielding's process of having an idea to the point the novel is finished generally takes a year, the writing itself taking four to eight months ... Joy Fielding sets most of her novels in American cities such as Boston and Chicago ...
Lone Ranger - Other Media - Novels
... The first Lone Ranger novel appeared in 1936, and eventually 18 volumes were published, as listed below ... and rewrote parts of later editions of the first novel ...
Francis Brett Young - The Mercian Novels
... Young's career was a series of linked novels set in a loosely fictionalised version of the English West Midlands and Welsh Borders ... The Mercian novels were originally inspired by the construction of Birmingham Corporation's Elan Valley Reservoirs from 1893–1904, and the country traversed by their associated ... Although linked by recurring characters, each of the Mercian novels can be read as an independent work ...