The sixth year of IROC competition took place in 1978 and 1979. The format changed from IROC V in that three qualifying races were held for participants from NASCAR, USAC Champ Car, and Road Racing (which primarily consisted of Formula One, SCCA, and IMSA). The top four finishers in these qualifying races then earned the chance to race in the two final races at Riverside International Raceway and Atlanta Motor Speedway. IROC VI used the Chevrolet Camaro in all races. Mario Andretti won the road racing finale en route to the championship, and took home $75,000 for his efforts.

The final points standings were as follows:

Position Driver Winnings Series
1 Mario Andretti $75,000 Formula One'USAC Champ Car
2 Neil Bonnett $28,500 NASCAR Winston Cup
3 Cale Yarborough $28,500 NASCAR Winston Cup
4 Bobby Allison $21,000 NASCAR Winston Cup
5 Alan Jones $20,000 Formula One
6 Gordon Johncock $19,000 USAC Champ Car
7 Tom Sneva $18,000 USAC Champ Car
8 Emerson Fittipaldi $17,000 Formula One
9 Peter Gregg $16,000 IMSA Camel GT
10 Donnie Allison $15,000 NASCAR Winston Cup
11 Al Unser $15,000 USAC Champ Car
12 A. J. Foyt ---1 USAC Champ Car