Indianapolis ABCs

The Indianapolis ABCs were a Negro League baseball team that played both as an independent club and as a charter member of the first Negro National League (NNL). They claimed the western championship of black baseball in 1915 and 1916, and finished second in the 1922 NNL. Among their best players were Hall of Famers Oscar Charleston and Ben Taylor.

Read more about Indianapolis ABCs:  Founding, Split and Hiatus, Reorganization and League Play, Decline, Demise and Reincarnates

Other articles related to "indianapolis abcs, abcs, indianapolis":

Indianapolis ABCs - Decline, Demise and Reincarnates
... Warner Jewell organized a new version of the ABCs for 1925, which finished a dismal 17-57 in the NNL in 1926, they improved to 43-45, but folded at season's end ... Indianapolis ABCs (II) Five years later, Candy Jim Taylor returned to Indianapolis and organized another new franchise called the ABCs, which played in the NNL's last season in 1931, then joined the ... In 1933, Taylor brought the ABCs into Gus Greenlee's new Negro National League but low attendance led Taylor to move the club to Detroit and rename them the Stars shortly after opening day ...
Brooklyn Bushwicks
... Stars Cleveland Tigers Columbus Buckeyes Cuban Stars (West) Dayton Marcos Detroit Stars Indianapolis ABCs Kansas City Monarchs Louisville White Sox Memphis Red Sox ... Browns Washington Pilots Negro Southern League (1932) Cole's American Giants Indianapolis ABCs Louisville Black Caps-Columbus Turfs Memphis Red Sox Monroe Monarchs Montgomery Grey Sox Nashville ...
Negro National League (1920–1931) - Negro National League Franchises - Member Timetable
... of 8 teams - Chicago American Giants, Detroit Stars, Kansas City Monarchs, Indianapolis ABCs, St. 1924 Dropped Toledo Tigers, Milwaukee Bears, Indianapolis ABCs (mid-season) Added Cleveland Browns, Birmingham Black Barons, Memphis Red Sox (mid-season). 1925 Dropped Cleveland Browns Added Indianapolis ABCs ...