Howard Nemerov Sonnet Award

The Howard Nemerov Sonnet Award was established in 1994 by The Formalist, a poetry magazine founded by William Baer. The award honors the poet Howard Nemerov, who died in 1991. It is an open competition for sonnets in English that draws about 3000 entries annually. The award itself is $1000. From 1995–2004, the sonnets by the winner and by eleven finalists were published in The Formalist; following the discontinuation of The Formalist in 2004, the winning and eleven finalist poems have been published in the literary magazine Measure. The creation of the award is associated with the "New Formalism" movement of late 20th Century poetry.

Read more about Howard Nemerov Sonnet AwardList of Winners

Other articles related to "howard nemerov sonnet award":

Howard Nemerov Sonnet Award - List of Winners
... The winners and final judges from 1994–2010 are posted on a webpage of The Formalist References for subsequent winners are provided in the table ... Past Winners Year Poet Sonnet Judge 2011 Robert W ...

Famous quotes containing the words award, sonnet, howard and/or nemerov:

    The award of a pure gold medal for poetry would flatter the recipient unduly: no poem ever attains such carat purity.
    Robert Graves (1895–1985)

    A Sonnet is a moment’s monument,—
    Memorial from the Soul’s eternity
    To one dead deathless hour.
    Dante Gabriel Rossetti (1828–1882)

    Will you take your hands off me? What are you playing, osteopath?
    Charles Lederer, screenwriter, and Howard Hawks. Hildy Johnson (Rosalind Russell)

    The ordinary night was graced
    For them by the swift tide of blood
    That silently they took at flood,
    And for a little time they prized
    Themselves emparadised.
    —Howard Nemerov (b. 1920)