Houses of The Holy

Houses of the Holy is the fifth studio album by the English rock band Led Zeppelin, released by Atlantic Records on 28 March 1973. The album title is a dedication by the band to their fans who appeared at venues they dubbed "Houses of the Holy". It was the second Led Zeppelin album not to be officially titled after the band. It was also the first of the band's albums to be composed of completely original material. It represents a musical turning point for Led Zeppelin, as they began to use more layering and production techniques in recording their songs.

The album contains several of Led Zeppelin's most famous songs, including "The Song Remains the Same", "Over the Hills and Far Away", "Dancing Days" and "D'yer Mak'er", and the album was later certified eleven times platinum by the RIAA. The title track was also recorded in the sessions for this album, but was left unreleased until its appearance on their next album, Physical Graffiti.

In 2012, Houses of the Holy was ranked number 148 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time.

Read more about Houses Of The HolyRecording Sessions, Composition, Album Sleeve Design, Release and Critical Reaction, Track Listing, Sales Chart Performance, Sales Certifications, Personnel