Grójec County

Grójec County (Polish: powiat grójecki) is a unit of territorial administration and local government (powiat) in Masovian Voivodeship, east-central Poland. It came into being on January 1, 1999, as a result of the Polish local government reforms passed in 1998. Its administrative seat and largest town is Grójec, which lies 40 kilometres (25 mi) south of Warsaw. The county contains three other towns: Warka, 25 km (16 mi) east of Grójec, Nowe Miasto nad Pilicą, 34 km (21 mi) south-west of Grójec, and Mogielnica, 22 km (14 mi) south-west of Grójec.

The county covers an area of 1,268.82 square kilometres (489.9 sq mi). As of 2006 its total population is 96,489, out of which the population of Grójec is 14,990, that of Warka is 11,028, that of Nowe Miasto nad Pilicą is 3,832, that of Mogielnica is 2,461, and the rural population is 64,178.

Read more about Grójec CountyNeighbouring Counties, Administrative Division

Other articles related to "county":

Laski, Grójec County
... district of Gmina Warka, within Grójec County, Masovian Voivodeship, in east-central Poland ... (3 mi) west of Warka, 21 km (13 mi) south-east of Grójec, and 49 km (30 mi) south of Warsaw ...
Grójec County - Administrative Division
... The county is subdivided into 10 gminas (four urban-rural and six rural) ... Gmina Type Area Population Seat Gmina Grójec urban-rural 120.6 23,140 Grójec Gmina Warka urban-rural 201.1 18,896 Warka Gmina Chynów rural 137.1 9,442 ...

Famous quotes containing the word county:

    In the county there are thirty-seven churches
    and no butcher shop. This could be taken
    as a matter of all form and no content.
    Maxine Kumin (b. 1925)