FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup

The FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup is an international association football tournament, organized by FIFA (Fédération Internationale de Football Association), for national teams of women no older than age 20. The tournament is held in even-numbered years. It was first conducted in 2002 as the FIFA U-19 Women's World Championship with an upper age limit of 19. In 2006, the age limit was raised to the current 20. The event was renamed as a World Cup effective with the 2008 competition, making its name consistent with FIFA's other worldwide competitions for national teams.

Starting with the 2010 edition, tournaments held in years immediately preceding the FIFA Women's World Cup are awarded as part of the bidding process for the Women's World Cup. In those years, the U-20 Women's World Cup serves as a dry run for the host nation of the Women's World Cup, a role similar to that of the FIFA Confederations Cup in the men's game.

Read more about FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup:  Qualification, Results, Total Wins

Famous quotes containing the words cup, world and/or women:

    The morning cup of coffee has an exhiliration about it which the cheering influence of the afternoon or evening cup of tea cannot be expected to reproduce.
    Oliver Wendell Holmes, Sr. (1809–1894)

    When I pitched headforemost into the world I landed in the crib of Negroism.
    Zora Neale Hurston (1891–1960)

    What we take for virtue is often but an assemblage of various ambitions and activities that chance, or our own astuteness, have arranged in a certain manner; and it is not always out of courage or purity that men are brave, and women chaste.
    François, Duc De La Rochefoucauld (1613–1680)