Fast Forward (TV Series)

Fast Forward (TV series)

Fast Forward was Australia’s highest rating, longest running and most critically awarded commercial television sketch comedy show, broadcast for 90 one hour episodes from 12 April 1989 to 26 November 1992.

The show was produced by Steve Vizard, who was an Executive Producer, writer and performer, and starred Magda Szubanski, Marg Downey, Michael Veitch, Peter Moon, Jane Turner and Gina Riley who went on to star in Kath & Kim, Alan Pentland, Steve Blackburn, Geoff Brookes, Ernie Dingo, the Rubbery Figures satirical puppets and numerous guests and supporting stars, such as Gerry Connolly and Brian Dawe.

Fast Forward was succeeded by the related series Full Frontal, and subequently Totally Full Frontal, which were broadcast from 1993 to 1999 and which starred many of the original Fast Forward cast as well as many iconic performers including Eric Bana, Stephen Curry, Glenn Robbins, Shaun Micallef, Kitty Flanagan and Julia Morris.

Fast Forward was directed by Ted Emery. In its second and subsequent series, Andrew Knight joined Steve Vizard and Ted Emery as Executive Producers of the show. They went on to establish the leading Australian Production house, Artist Services, which produced 1400 hours of prime time television including SeaChange, Big Girls Blouse, Tonight Live with Steve Vizard, the Eric Bana show, the Shaun Micallef Pogram (sic).

All four seasons plus five 'best of' compilations of Fast Forward have been released on DVD. All four seasons were re-released in 2010.

Read more about Fast Forward (TV series):  Background, Style, Sketches and Content, Cast, Awards and Ratings, DVD Releases, Specials, Adaption