Erewash ( /ˈɛrəwɒʃ/ ERR-ə-wosh) is a local government district and borough in eastern Derbyshire, England, to the east of Derby and the west of Nottingham. It contains the towns of Ilkeston, Long Eaton and Sandiacre and fourteen civil parishes.

The borough was formed on 1 April 1974 by the merger of the Borough of Ilkeston, the Long Eaton urban district and part of South East Derbyshire Rural District.

The borough council's headquarters are split between each of the main urban areas at Long Eaton and Ilkeston town halls.

The borough is home to the public school, Trent College, The Long Eaton School In Long Eaton, Erewash and its junior / prep school The Elms School.

Other articles related to "erewash":

Sawley, Derbyshire
52.876000 -1.297000 Sawley Sawley Population 6,500 District Erewash Shire county Derbyshire Region East Midlands Country England Sovereign state United ...
Erewash Valley Line - Future
... are listed buildings and it is a World Heritage Area, it seems that the Erewash line is ripe for expansion ... Part 1a - North Erewash (Trowell to Coney Green) Part 1b - Tapton (Coney Green to Tapton) Part 2a - South Erewash (Toton) Part 2b - South Erewash (remainder) ...
River Erewash - Literary Associations
... For such a small river, the Erewash has a surprisingly high literary profile, due almost entirely to D.H ... who mentions it several times, and centres a number of works in the Erewash valley ... on the Marsh Farm, in the meadows where the Erewash twisted sluggishly through alder trees, separating Derbyshire from Nottinghamshire." ...