Episcopal Diocese of Western Colorado

The Episcopal Diocese of Western Colorado was a diocese of the Episcopal Church in the United States of America from 1892 to 1898 and from 1907 to 1919.

In 1892 Western Colorado was detached from the Diocese of Colorado and constituted as a Missionary District. It consisted of all regions in Colorado west of Larimer, Boulder, Gilpin, Clear Creek, Park, Lake, Chaffee, Saguache, Rio Grande and Conejos counties.

The first Bishop was William Morris Barker from 1893 to 1894. The district was administered from 1894 to 1903 by Abiel Leonard, whose title in 1895 became Missionary Bishop of Nevada, Utah, and Western Colorado. In 1898 it became part of the Missionary District of Salt Lake. Bishop Leonard was succeeded by Franklin S. Spalding from 1904 to 1907.

In 1907 the Missionary District of Western Colorado was recreated and had the following bishops:

  • Edward J. Knight (1907–1908)
  • Benjamin Brewster (1909–1916)
  • Frank H. Touret (1917–1919)

In 1919 Western Colorado again became part of the Diocese of Colorado, as it had been up to 1892.

Famous quotes containing the words colorado and/or western:

    I am persuaded that the people of the world have no grievances, one against the other. The hopes and desires of a man who tills the soil are about the same whether he lives on the banks of the Colorado or on the banks of the Danube.
    Lyndon Baines Johnson (1908–1973)

    Christianity as an organized religion has not always had a harmonious relationship with the family. Unlike Judaism, it kept almost no rituals that took place in private homes. The esteem that monasticism and priestly celibacy enjoyed implied a denigration of marriage and parenthood.
    Beatrice Gottlieb, U.S. historian. The Family in the Western World from the Black Death to the Industrial Age, ch. 12, Oxford University Press (1993)