Episcopal Diocese of Alabama

The Episcopal Diocese of Alabama is located in Province IV of The Episcopal Church and serves the State of Alabama with the exception of the extreme southern region, including Mobile, which forms part of the Diocese of the Central Gulf Coast.

Currently, the Right Reverend John McKee "Kee" Sloan serves as diocesan bishop. Sloan assumed the ordinary position on January 7, 2012, having been elected on July 16, 2011, after serving the Diocese four years as bishop suffragan. The Cathedral Church of the Advent in Birmingham serves as its cathedral. The Bishops' Offices are located at Carpenter House in Birmingham alongside the Cathedral.

The diocese currently includes about 92 parishes including college campus ministries and Camp McDowell, the diocesan camp, which is located in Nauvoo, Alabama, along Clear Creek. The total membership of the diocese is estimated at over 30,000 persons. Alabama is the only diocese in the Episcopal Church where there are no mission congregations; that is, all churches are expected to be self-supporting and self-governing parishes, with diocesan subsidies reserved for new church starts only. The policy was instituted by Bishop Furman C. Stough in the 1970s.

Read more about Episcopal Diocese Of Alabama:  A Brief History, List of Bishops, Churches

Other articles related to "episcopal diocese of alabama, diocese of alabama, alabama, episcopal, diocese, of alabama":

Episcopal Diocese Of Alabama - Churches
... The Diocese of Alabama comprises 92 parishes, including the Campus Ministries that serve the various Colleges and Universities in Alabama ... Christ Episcopal Church (Tuscaloosa, Alabama) is the oldest parish in continuous existence in the Diocese, founded in 1828 ... The oldest parish in the state of Alabama is Christ Church Cathedral (Mobile, Alabama), but it is located in the Diocese of the Central Gulf Coast ...

Famous quotes containing the word alabama:

    Oh! Susanna, do not cry for me;
    I come from Alabama with my banjo on my knee.
    Stephen Collins Foster (1826–1864)