Elliott Yamin (album)

Elliott Yamin (album)

Elliott Yamin is the self-titled debut album by American pop singer (former American Idol finalist) Elliott Yamin, released on March 20, 2007 by the independent label Hickory Records and distributed through Sony BMG-owned RED Distribution. Yamin collaborated with Sony/ATV Music Publishing to write, produce, and market the album.

Yamin commented on the album:

My main thing was that I wanted to write some songs on this, and wanted to make sure that we got some music out to the vast fan base that I've established through 'Idol.' A lot of people have been getting antsy, anticipating some music from me. We've really tried to focus on getting it out to the fans while not compromising any style or integrity.

Previews of four songs were made available on AOL Music First Listen on February 13, 2007: pre-album promo single "Movin' On", a full version of his acclaimed cover of "A Song for You", a love song titled "You are the One", and "Find a Way".

The radio premiere of the first official single, "Wait for You", was on March 1, 2007, on KIIS-FM. The song was released to online music services, including iTunes, on March 13, 2007.

Yamin described his CD as "a vocally driven mix of r & b/pop crossover material with hints of blues and a few club-bangers." The album includes 11 tracks, although several bonus tracks are offered at different retailers.

The album debuted on the U.S. Billboard 200 chart at number three, selling 90,000 copies in its first week. It was certified gold on October 12, 2007.

Yamin promoted the album during 2007 with a nine-month tour of clubs, small theaters and radio-station holiday shows across the United States, plus shows in Canada, the Philippines, and Malaysia.

The album was released in Japan on May 21, 2008 by Avex Trax. The Japan version has been retitled Wait for You and includes bonus tracks "In Love With You Forever" and "Believe". It was certified Gold there in September 2008. On October 8, 2008, a Premium Edition of the album was released in Japan, including 2 more tracks: "A Whiter Shade of Pale" and "I'll Make You Dance", plus Yamin's cover version of "Home", originally from Japanese singer Yusaku Kiyama, who recorded a Japanese version of "Wait for You" in return.

On the Billboard.com's end of decade charts, Elliott Yamin's self-titled debut album, Elliott Yamin, has been placed at number 39 on the top independent albums of the decade list.

Read more about Elliott Yamin (album):  Track Listing, Singles, Chart Performance

Other articles related to "albums":

Elliott Yamin (album) - Chart Performance
... Billboard Independent Albums1 U.S ... Top Internet Albums3 U.S ... Top Comprehensive Albums3 U.S ...