Elkhorn Mountains

The Elkhorn Mountains are a mountain range in southwestern Montana, part of the Rocky Mountains and are roughly 300,000 acres (1200 km²) in size. It is an inactive volcanic mountain range with the highest point being Crow Peak at 9,414 ft (2,869 m), right next to Elkhorn Peak, 9,381 ft (2,859 m). The range is surrounded by the cities of Helena, Montana City, Townsend, Whitehall, and Boulder and is part of the Helena National Forest in Montana's Jefferson County.

Read more about Elkhorn MountainsGeology, The Land

Other articles related to "elkhorn mountains, mountain, elkhorn, elkhorns":

Elkhorn Mountains - The Land
... burned 47,000 acres (190 km²) of the mountain range, leaving carpets of seedlings growing into new lodgepole pine forests ... most notably the abandoned mining town of Elkhorn ... the impacts of mining, around 100,000 acres of the Elkhorns were still roadless as of 1992 this included 85,000 acres of roadless National Forest land as well ...

Famous quotes containing the word mountains:

    I can’t do with mountains at close quarters—they are always in the way, and they are so stupid, never moving and never doing anything but obtrude themselves.
    —D.H. (David Herbert)