Electoral District of East Sydney

Electoral District Of East Sydney

East Sydney was an electoral district for the Legislative Assembly in the Australian State of New South Wales created in 1859 from part of the electoral district of Sydney, covering the eastern part of the current Sydney central business district, Woolloomooloo, Potts Point, Elizabeth Bay and Darlinghurst, bordered by George Street to the east, Boundary Street to the west, and, from the creation of South Sydney in 1880, Liverpool Street and Oxford Street, to the south. It elected four members simultaneously, with voters casting four votes and the first four candidates being elected. For the 1894 election, it was replaced by the single-member electorates of Sydney-King, Sydney-Fitzroy and Sydney-Bligh.

Read more about Electoral District Of East Sydney:  Members For East Sydney

Other articles related to "electoral district of east sydney, sydney":

Electoral District Of East Sydney - Members For East Sydney
1882–1883 George Griffiths None 1882–1885 Henry Copeland None 1883–1887 Sydney Burdekin None 1884–1887 George Reid None 1885–1887 Free Trade 1887–1891 William McMillan Free Trade 1887–1894 ...

Famous quotes containing the words sydney, east, district and/or electoral:

    What is more hopelessly uninteresting than accomplished liberty? Great swarming, teeming Sydney flowing out into these myriads of bungalows, like shallow waters spreading, undyked. And what then? Nothing. No inner life, no high command, no interest in anything finally.
    —D.H. (David Herbert)

    We have a great deal more kindness than is ever spoken. Maugre all the selfishness that chills like east winds the world, the whole human family is bathed with an element of love like a fine ether.
    Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803–1882)

    Most works of art, like most wines, ought to be consumed in the district of their fabrication.
    Rebecca West (1892–1983)

    Nothing is more unreliable than the populace, nothing more obscure than human intentions, nothing more deceptive than the whole electoral system.
    Marcus Tullius Cicero (106–43 B.C.)