Eight Consciousnesses

The Eight Consciousnesses is a classification developed in the tradition of the Yogacara school of Buddhism. They enumerate the five senses, supplemented by the mind, the "obscuration" of the mind (manas), and finally the fundamental store-house consciousness, which is the basis of the other seven.

Read more about Eight Consciousnesses:  Etymology, The Eight Consciousnesses (Aṣṭa Vijñāna), Consciousness