East Staffordshire

East Staffordshire is a local government district with borough status in Staffordshire in England. It has two main towns, Burton upon Trent, famous for its breweries, and Uttoxeter, for its racecourse.

Villages in the area include Abbots Bromley, Tutbury, Barton-under-Needwood, Rolleston on Dove, Hanbury, Kingstone, Marchington, Mayfield and The Heath.

The borough was formed on 1 April 1974 by the merger of the former county borough of Burton upon Trent with Uttoxeter Urban District, Tutbury Rural District and Uttoxeter Rural District.

Read more about East StaffordshireTransport

Other articles related to "east staffordshire":

East Staffordshire - Transport
... There are two railway stations in the Borough, Burton-on-Trent on the Cross Country Route and Uttoxeter on the Crewe to Derby Line, There is also a station serving Tutbury also on the Crewe to Derby Line called Tutbury and Hatton which is in the South Derbyshire district. ...
DE Postcode Area - Coverage
... Derbyshire Dales, Amber Valley, South Derbyshire, Derby, East Staffordshire DE7 ILKESTON Horsley Woodhouse, Ilkeston, Morley, West Hallam Erewash, Amber Valley DE11 SWADLINCOTE Church Gresley ...

Famous quotes containing the word east:

    Then Moses stretched out his hand over the sea. The LORD drove the sea back by a strong east wind all night, and turned the sea into dry land; and the waters were divided. The Israelites went into the sea on dry ground, the waters forming a wall for them on their right and on their left.
    Bible: Hebrew, Exodus 14:21,22.