Deutsche Reichsbahn (East Germany)

Deutsche Reichsbahn (East Germany)

The Deutsche Reichsbahn or DR (German Reich Railways) was the operating name of state owned railways in the German Democratic Republic (East Germany).

In 1949 occupied Germany's railways were returned to German control after four years of allied control following World War II. Those in the Soviet occupation zone (which became the German Democratic Republic or GDR on October 7, 1949) continued to run as the Deutsche Reichsbahn, the name given to the German national railways in 1937. In West Germany, the Reichsbahn was succeeded by the Deutsche Bundesbahn (DB).

Both the Reichsbahn and the Bundesbahn continued as separate entities until 1994, when they merged to form the Deutsche Bahn.

Read more about Deutsche Reichsbahn (East Germany):  Organisation, Passenger Service, Electrification, The DR in Berlin During The Cold War, The S-Bahn in West Berlin During The Cold War, The DR After The Reunification of Germany, Directors General of The DR, Chairman of The Board of The DR

Other related articles:

Deutsche Reichsbahn (East Germany) - Chairman of The Board of The DR
... Heinz DÃrr 1991-1992 DÃrr was also concurrently chairman of the board of the DB ... chairman of the joint board of directors of the DB and DR from June 1992 December 1993 ...