Delta Sigma Theta

Delta Sigma Theta (ΔΣΘ) is a not-for profit Greek-lettered sorority of college-educated women who perform public service and place emphasis on the African American community. Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was founded on January 13, 1913, by 22 collegiate women at Howard University. These students wanted to use their collective strength to promote academic excellence and to provide assistance to persons in need. The first public act performed by the Delta Founders involved their participation in the Women's Suffrage March in Washington D.C., March 1913. Delta Sigma Theta was incorporated in 1930. Today, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority is the largest African-American Greek-lettered sorority in the world. Membership in Delta Sigma Theta is open to any woman who meets the membership requirements, regardless of religion, race, or nationality. Women may join through undergraduate chapters at a college or university, or after acquiring a college degree through an alumnae chapter.

A sisterhood of more than 300,000 predominantly Black college-educated women, the sorority currently has over 1,000 chapters located in the United States, England, Japan (Tokyo and Okinawa), Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas and the Republic of Korea.

Delta Sigma Theta is a member of multiple organizations, including the National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC) – an organization of nine international Greek-letter sororities and fraternities - as well as the NAACP and the National Council of Negro Women (NCNW). The current 24th national president is Cynthia M. A. Butler-McIntyre.

The organization will celebrate its 100th birthday with a float entitled "Transforming Communities through Sisterhood and Service" in the 2013 Tournament of Roses Parade in Pasadena, CA.

Read more about Delta Sigma ThetaDelta Founders, National Presidents, Membership, National Headquarters, Programs, Texas Rapist

Other articles related to "delta sigma theta, delta":

Delta Sigma Theta - Texas Rapist
... serial rapist in the Dallas area was reported to be targeting Delta Sigma Theta alumnae, attacking four alumnae in their mid-50s to mid-60s over an eleven-month period ...
List Of Delta Sigma Theta Sisters - "Delta Girl" - National Presidents
... and the first national president of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated ... Zeta 1926-1929 President Calimese was responsible for implementing the Delta Vigilence Committee ... President she incorporated the Grand Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta ...
The Links, Incorporated - History - Members Co-involvement With National Pan-Hellenic Council Sororities
... of the four National Pan-Hellenic Council Sororities (mainly Alpha Kappa Alpha and Delta Sigma Theta) ... For example Link Founder Sarah Strickland Scott was a member of Delta Sigma Theta sorority Original member Link Katie Murphy Greene was member of Alpha Kappa Alpha sorority ... Immediate Past National President, Gladys Gary Vaughn, is a member of Delta Sigma Theta sorority ...
Residence Halls At The University Of San Francisco - Greek Organizations
... Delta Sigma Theta The Tau Tau chapter of Delta Sigma Theta was chartered at USF on March 19, 2005 ... Their statement of purpose reads as follows "Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc ... and support through established programs in local communities throughout the world." Delta Zeta The Xi Lambda chapter of Delta Zeta was chartered at USF on April 23, 1983 ...
List Of Delta Sigma Theta National Conventions
... Delta Sigma Theta National Conventions ... Wilberforce, Ohio 01920-12-28December 28, 1920 Convention authorized The Delta Journal Honorary Members The Delta May Week and its slogan, "Invest in Education" and Alumnae Chapters. 27, 1924–01924-12-31December 31, 1924 Delta Sigma Theta Hymn adopted ...