Daytime Emmy Award For Outstanding Drama Series

Daytime Emmy Award For Outstanding Drama Series

The Daytime Emmy Award for Outstanding Drama Series is an award which has been given every year at the Daytime Emmys ceremony since 1974. As there are separate awards for acting, writing and directing, the award is generally given to the soap opera that excelled in all three of those categories. General Hospital has won this award 11 times, more than any other show.

In the lists below, the winner of the award for each year is shown first, followed by the other nominees.

Total awards won
Wins Series
11 General Hospital
7 The Young and the Restless
4 As the World Turns
3 All My Children
3 The Bold and the Beautiful
3 Guiding Light
3 Santa Barbara
2 Ryan's Hope
1 Another World
1 Days of our Lives
1 The Doctors
1 One Life to Live

Read more about Daytime Emmy Award For Outstanding Drama Series:  1970s, 1980s, 1990s, 2000s, 2010s

Famous quotes containing the words drama, outstanding, series, daytime and/or award:

    The popular definition of tragedy is heavy drama in which everyone is killed in the last act, comedy being light drama in which everyone is married in the last act.
    George Bernard Shaw (1856–1950)

    From time to time there appear on the face of the earth men of rare and consummate excellence, who dazzle us by their virtue, and whose outstanding qualities shed a stupendous light. Like those extraordinary stars of whose origins we are ignorant, and of whose fate, once they have vanished, we know even less, such men have neither forebears nor descendants: they are the whole of their race.
    —Jean De La Bruy√®re (1645–1696)

    The professional celebrity, male and female, is the crowning result of the star system of a society that makes a fetish of competition. In America, this system is carried to the point where a man who can knock a small white ball into a series of holes in the ground with more efficiency than anyone else thereby gains social access to the President of the United States.
    C. Wright Mills (1916–1962)

    This was your place of birth, this daytime palace,
    This miracle of glass....
    Philip Larkin (1922–1986)

    The award of a pure gold medal for poetry would flatter the recipient unduly: no poem ever attains such carat purity.
    Robert Graves (1895–1985)