Customary Land

Customary land is land which is owned by Indigenous communities and administered in accordance with their customs, as opposed to statutory tenure usually introduced during the colonial periods. Common ownership is one form of customary land ownership.

In most countries of the Pacific islands customary land remains the dominant land tenure form. Distinct customary systems of tenure have evolved on different islands and areas within the Pacific region. In any country there may be many different types of customary tenure.

The amount of customary land ownership out of the total land area of a country is: 97% in Papua New Guinea, 90% in Vanuatu, 88% in Fiji, 87% in the Solomon Islands, 81% in Samoa.

Other articles related to "land, customary land, customary":

Agriculture In Malawi - History of Agriculture - After Independence
... Most of the land in Malawi suitable for farming food crops was available at the tine of independence to Malawians without an obligation to pay cash rent or provide labour services ... In 1966, President Banda argued that customary land tenure was insecure and inhibited investment ... The Customary Land Development Act, 1967 allowed the creation of agricultural leases of up to 99 years over Customary Land ...
... Like other land in Samoa, customary land in Satapuala was also alienated during colonialism ... Customary land has since come under the government ... Part of the former customary village land is where the new Aggie Grey's Lagoon Resort (the Government is the majority shareholder) has been built with a golf course beside the airport ...

Famous quotes containing the words land and/or customary:

    From land to land; and in my breast
    Spring wakens too; and my regret
    Becomes an April violet,
    And buds and blossoms like the rest.
    Alfred Tennyson (1809–1892)

    He who strays from the customary becomes a sacrifice to the extraordinary; he who keeps to the customary becomes its slave. He is condemned to perish in either case.
    Friedrich Nietzsche (1844–1900)