County of Tyrol

The County of Tyrol, Princely County from 1504, was a State of the Holy Roman Empire, from 1814 a province of the Austrian Empire and from 1867 a Cisleithanian crown land (Kronland) of Austria-Hungary. Today its territory is divided between the Italian region of Trentino-Alto Adige/Südtirol, a small part of the Italian region of Veneto (Cortina d'Ampezzo and other villages) and the Austrian state of Tyrol. Both regions are today associated again in the Euroregion Tyrol-South Tyrol-Trentino.

Read more about County Of Tyrol:  Counts of Tyrol

Other articles related to "county of tyrol, county, of tyrol":

County Of Tyrol - Counts of Tyrol - House of Habsburg
... County bequeathed to Rudolph IV of Habsburg 1363–1365, also Duke of Austria, Styria and Carinthia since 1358, Duke of Carniola from 1364 Leopold I 1365–1386, brother, also Duke of Austria ... Habsburg regents of Tyrol and Further Austria Ferdinand II 1564–1595, second son of Emperor Ferdinand I Maximilian III 1612–1618, son Leopold V 1619–1632, younger ...

Famous quotes containing the word county:

    In the County Tyrone, in the town of Dungannon,
    —Unknown. The Old Orange Flute (l. 1)